We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Booked a short break for my parents as a birthday present for my father based on the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
They have just returned and have had a wonderful time. Mark & Joni really looked after them. The rooms are lovely and the food fantastic. Location is ideal. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForestTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
519
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Hosts Joni and Mark and staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We ate in the hotel dining room both nights, the food was excellent and very good value.
Lots of choice for breakfast, and again the quality was great. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean.
We would recommend the hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
463 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

As most others have said, this is a great place to stay if you are headed to Llandudno. It's on the less busy side of the city, but still just a short walk to the beach. Our room was large, clean but cozy. The bathroom was very modern and had a nice soaking tub. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and prepared as requested. There is plenty of free parking on the quiet street adjacent to the hotel. We found Llandudno to be an excellent base from which to explore Northern Wales. Our stay at the Clontarf was a plus to our time in this part of Great Britain.

Room Tip: If you can walk up several fights of stairs the room at the top facing the ocean is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a wonderful stay we were greeted by the owners who were very welcoming and shown to our room. A lovely room at the top of the building with a sleigh bed, an amazing shower, beautiful toiletries and the whole room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely.
Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibdabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel is in a quiet part of Llandudno and has plenty of free parking outside. On arrival Mark made us fell very welcome. The room that we choose was the smallest room and was OK for a short stay. When we return, however, we will pay the extra for a larger room.
The hotel is in an excellent decorative state, especially surprisingly as we visited at the end of the season.
The price of wine and drinks is very reasonable for a hotel.
We ate in the hotel for our first night as we did not want to search for a restaurant. The choice of food was good and the quality excellent. A 3 course suburb meal for £15 is great value. The menu varies each day as Mark & Joni provide a specials menu. The food was so good that we decided to eat in every day.
The atmosphere in the restaurant is very good and most guests talk to each other.
I would definitely visit this hotel again.

Mark & Joni are excellent hosts

Room Tip: Choose a larger room. The mountain view rooms have a better view than the sea viw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpletravelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

A fantastic small hotel with outstanding rooms and hosts. A very warm welcome awaited us by the staff & Mark. Lots of useful information about the area. An excellent breakfast with lots of choice was served to us by Joni. I don't think anyone would be disappointed with a stay at this hotel. It is excellent value for money

Room Tip: All 9 rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Just returned from our minibreak honeymoon (or minimoon) to Llandudno. On arrival, hotel is literally a stones throw from the beach, nice and quiet area looking onto the orme. Mark and Joni, the owners are a lovely couple. Make you feel welcome, chatty and if they can help you in any way they will. Also the waiter for the evening meal (who's name I didn't catch) is outstanding. Very polite, helpful and welcoming. An attribute that seems to be lost nowadays. Food is great and reasonably priced. Rooms are clean and well furnished. Decor in the place as a whole is very contemporary and tasteful. All in all we're planning a return at a later date, and would recommend to anyone. Definitely a hidden gem. Thanks Mark and Joni for a great mini break. Just what we needed!

Martyn and Nicola

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemoon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing