We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely winter break”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I had a 3 night break at the end of January 2012 and were made so welcome by Mark and Joni. Excellent breakfast every morning and lots of choice. Rooms beautifully appointed and lovely comfy bed and the best power shower ever! Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peaks25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Clontarf warrants all of the excellent reviews shown, I'm pleased to say. My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay and throughly enjoyed it. The hotel may lie in the shadow of the Great Orme but as a hotel it stands in no-one's shadow! Yes, the rooms are elegant and the beds comfy; yes, it is just a short 10 minute walk into town, and yes, Mark and Joni are excellent hosts. But even better than that, is the cooking! There's an excellent variety available for breakfast and whatever you want is cooked to order. But, please also try the evening meal, as we did, as every course was well cooked and most enjoyable.You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just look at the 360 degree camera shots on the website, then choose whichever room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LNL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Clontarf is a contemporary hotel with 9 rooms all of which are outstanding. Myself and my wife have just spent 3 fantastic nights in this establishment. We were greeted by Mark ands Joni the owners who made us feel instantly welcome and at home. We were shown to our room which was superbly appointed and spotlessly clean. I would advise that anyone booking the Clontarf check which floor your room is on, we were on the top floor which involves 3 flights of stairs. This is just a cautionary tale as anyone with difficulties or infirmities may struggle. Breakfast saw a formidable array of cereals fruit and juices plus a full welsh breakfast available if you wanted it. This was absolutely delicious and set us up for the day. No need for snack stops. Evening meals and room service were also available although we did not avail ourselves of this service. I am sure if the rest of the service is anything to go by this will have been excellent. In conclusion, I have no qualms in giving The Clontarf Llandudno the highest praise and would highly reccomend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but the higher floors could cause problems for people with infirmities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Clontarf for a short break at the end of January 2012, returning to a town we love. As we lived in the West Shore area of Llandudno until last year, we knew the location of the Clontarf & so didn't hesitate to book. If you want sunsets and stunning views over Snowdonia, this is the side of Llandudno you want to stay. It's a pleasant short walk into town, but well worth it to stay at the Clontarf. What a find this hotel is. We stayed in the Provence room, which is small but beautifully decorated, with a marvellously comfy bed, a smart shower room and a lovely sea view. Mark and Joni are lovely hosts, making you feel very welcome. Breakfast is fantastic, with plenty of choices, in lovely surroundings. We look forward to staying here again as soon as we're able, and would definitely recommend the Clontarf to anyone wanting a stay in Llandudno!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjnmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The owners of this hotel really know their stuff - a fabulous small hotel where nothing is too much trouble and the accommodation is first class. We stayed just one night in room 3, which looks out towards the Great Orme, and wished we had booked longer. The room came with a multi functional shower/steam booth and a fantastic adjustable electric bed which allowed individual sides to be raised - great for sitting in bed watching the wall mounted flat screen TV! A selection of DVD's was also available. The lounge and dining room were modern and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent, with a huge choice of freshly prepared food, including the (very) full cooked, fish, and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (superb). All in all terrific value for such high quality - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilaryBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Clontarf is a very stylish, comfortable hotel and the owners, Joni and Mark, are friendly, lovely hosts. Our room was perfect, it had all the amenities we could have wanted and was beautifully decorated just as the rest of the hotel was. The breakfast is yummy, and we were also very impressed with the delicious dinners we had there, at a very reasonable price for the high quality offered. We could not fault anything about this hotel and highly recommend it. We will definitely be returning in the future to this wonderful hotel. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keepingitrealhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I hesitate to recommend this hotel because it's so good that next time I want to stay, It'll be fully booked! I booked for 2 nights having found it on the internet & certainly wasn't disappointed. I was given a very friendly welcome by Joni, one of the owners, who made me a coffee which was most welcome after a long drive in the rain & was then shown to a lovely, tastefully furnished & decorated room with a fabulous shower room & a huge very comfortable bed & everything was spotlessly clean. I had a meal in the restaurant on the first night & it was excellent & very good value.
The breakfasts are as good as any I have had anywhere with enough choice to suit everyone & beautifully cooked.
The thing though that makes this hotel exceptional is the great attention to detail & the really tasteful, good quality furnishings throughout - both the owners have been involved in sales & marketing & they certainly know how to produce a good product.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
498 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 59 in Llandudno
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#20 of 59 in Llandudno
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing