We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Absolutely brilliant, Rooms were very modern and very spacious and comfortable great breakfasts and incredibly friendly owners and staff.

Rooms have a great view of the Great Orme and the location is great, 20 metres from the West beach for a summer holiday or lovely walk to Conwy or around Great Orme.

10 minutes into town for some great restaurant recommended by the owners.

Recommend to anyone, and in fact already have.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    73
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
523
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay here and we wish it could have been for longer.All the staff were very friendly and could'nt do enough to make our stay enjoyable.The food is fantastic and there is a great choice for breakfast and evening meals.Can't wait until next year to go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We arrived at the Clontarf and were greated by the owner. Our room was on the first floor and had a lovely sofa in the bay window as well as our kingsize electric bed. I think the sofa was a bed too but didn't try it. Posh toiletries in the bathroom and a hot shower, what more could you ask. As the Clontarf is set back fron the sea front there isn't much of a view but it's lovely and quiet and the service is excellent. The Hotel has an honesty bar which I think is a nice touch. Breakfast (Welsh of course) was ample and well presented. Wish we had stayed another nght.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubrovchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My partner and I had a fun stay at the Clontarf Hotel, Mark and Joni were very welcoming. Great place, great location. The room was very clean and stylish, the food excellent. WE WILL BE BACK. Thanks.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2, which was very very nice. Not sure about the other rooms, as I hav'nt stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hheeedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Chose to have a impromptu weekend break and couldn't have chosen a better place. Hospitality was absolutely first class thanks to Joni and Mark. A fabulous guest house full of character and charm with delightful rooms. This little gem by the seaside is a must if you are visiting this part of the beautiful North Wales coast...

Will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Myself & my partner visited llandudno for the first time. We had a lovely welcome on arrival to the Clontarf. We stayed in the romantic room which was large & very clean. The location was good , we were happy that it was away from the town centre bit only a short walk away.breakfast was really good, a good choice & great quality.The Clontarf is good value for money & it really made our first visit to wales very enjoyable & relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just returned from a nice two night stay at the Clontarf.

We had room 7, and although small, it's nicely decorated and has lovely views. There were some nice little L'Occitane luxuries in the bathroom too.

There was a great selection of food at breakfast and also in the evening, all of which was well cooked and well presented.

Being located on the quieter side of Llandudno makes it much easier to park and makes for a nice stroll into the town. The location also made it easy to drive out of Llandudno if heading further afield.

Friendly owners rounded everything off nicely, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola-and-Chaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing