We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine review”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Genuine review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I booked to stay overnight, breaking our journey to Ireland. We were welcomed with a pot of tea, a guided tour of the hotel and shown to our room on the first floor. The bed was enormous, the room extremely spacious with a four-seater settee in abay window recess.
Our host showed us the en-suite bathroom which contained a shower cum sauna and explained the workings ( it was more like a spaceship then a shower).
The bed was so comfortable that neither of us wanted to get up in the morning. However we finally did so and went down to a superb Welsh breakfast, toast and coffee.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room No 3 on first floor at top of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roytomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
519
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for one night only in Oct 2013 for business reasons.
Great welcome, followed by a great room.
Everything in the room you could require was provided, from Great bed , to Flat screen tv and even all the shower gel, shampoo etc etc.
There is a residents lounge equipped with a TV and Dvd's that if you fancy a night in you can use in the lounge or back in your room.
The breakfast choice is first class and plenty of it.
Would have liked to have stayed longer, but will return in my own time for another stay.

Room Tip: The room at the top is huge, if you want space, ask for that one. Didn't see any others apart fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked a last minute room at the Clontarf, to get away for my birthday. We had booked previously a couple of years ago but had to cancel, which we were disappointed about, so wanted to return when we could, as the reviews we saw then didn't disappoint.
From first arriving, the first thing that you noticed is the fabulous backdrop that is the great Orme, its a wonderful sight to behold, and seeing people walking up the side, they were braver than us!!

The hotel itself is welcoming, Mark & Jo let us check in earlier than the 2pm noted online, this helped us as it set us up for the day, leaving us more time to explore Llandudno, although not our first visit, having that extra time to enjoy the sunny day made it more delightful.

It is a 10-15 minute walk to the centre from the hotel, which after eating tea at the Queen Victoria and feeling very full, was needed to walk off the excess!!
The room itself is lovely presented, has freeview and dvd player combined.
The shower was lovely and my partner certainly made the most of it!

Breakfast the following morning was delicious, a choice of cereals, toast, full English (although minus beans, might ask for that next time!!!), croissants was available.

Overall, the Clontarf is a joy and worth every penny, the peace and quiet from our room during the evening and nightime, along with the view of the orme, is worth the money alone.
We look forward to returning again soon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris79Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for just one night.
It appears that there are two sides to Llandudno .... One that's quite busy, with a pier, a whole host of B&Bs with beautiful facades along the prom and plenty of shops & restaurants. Then there's the quieter prom which seems to be more residential. The Clontarf is on the latter. There is a pub/restaurant within 5 minutes walk and the busier end of town is a few minutes drive away.
The hosts at the Clontarf could not have been friendlier. Offering help and chat without being intrusive, they have the balance just right!
Our room was clean, the bed was comfy and there was a great shower. Breakfast was delicious!
The price was right too!!! Very good value!
I'd recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTwoDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend with our dog and were reluctant to leave yesterday. We stayed in the ground floor bedroom which is decorated in a lovely modern classy style, the bed was so very comfortable and the sofa was great to watch tv when relaxing by moving the tv on its bracket. We were welcomed the instant we arrived and found the overall service perfect! I don't want overly formal b and b staff as the whole point is to get away great accommodation fantastic breakfast but to feel you can also relax. Mark and Joni really do get the balance just right! I saw someone further down complained the bathroom was small, yes it's compact but has the best walk in shower,it's classy and has a great basin and comfy toilet. We both found the body jets and overhead rain shower attachment have given an extra touch to when you use it. I for one loved it all including the loccitane bathroom products and cookies along with fresh white large towels each,tea and coffee and hot choc. the cleanliness of the whole place I feel was brilliant. The first time we arrived the clean smells were throughout as was the same when we came back on the the second day it again smelt and was perfectly clean everywhere. I love the idea of an honesty bar again. Another great service on offer. we never found time to indulge in their evening meals. However if breakfast is anything to go on it would be awesome. hubby had the full first day and joined me the next day in choosing pancakes,they were quite honestly the best pancakes ever. Upon leaving I said we will be back and we certainly will be back asap !!! Thanks to Joni,Mark and their team you couldn't ask for anything better at such a good price and I'm utterly excited to go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor for us was helpful as right bear the door but I never got disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel with well decorated and clean rooms. The stand in shower was really roomy and as we had a window in the bathroom there was no problem with condensation. The owners and their staff are very friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent, especially cooked breakfast, which set us up for the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My second visit & as I was travelling alone had room 5, a single room which has a double bed, good shower room & although on the small side is very well appointed, comfortable & plenty big enough for one.. The owners are very pleasant & obviously try hard to make guests as comfortable as possible. I didn't have dinner there this time but ate at one of their recommended restaurants, which was excellent. The breakfast is definitely something to look forward to - the 'fry up' is really good & non greasy, which is something not many hotels can achieve! The thing though that makes this hotel a cut above the rest is the great attention to detail - they have obviously stayed in a lot of hotels themselves & know what makes the difference between an average stay & something special. Don't bother looking at any other Llandudno hotels!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Longsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#35 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing