We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service!!”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Myself and my partner had a fantastic stay at the Clontarf for 3 nights, service was excellent rooms were immaculate and very cosy, like home from home. Mark and Joni both nice people who cant do enough for you and was very helpful, All in all we had a brilliant stay in Llandudno and the Clontarf, A trip we,ll never forget made even more special by the fact this was where we got engaged :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    75
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
537
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight en route to Bangor for a business trip. Had a fantastic room, room 8, with views of the great orme and west shore of Llandudno. Parking was useful but no parking restrictions on the street so win win. Breakfast was lovely and I would be more than happy to stay here again. Only minor criticism was the free WiFi connection was a bit unstable. As I was in the top room of the hotel I would recommend the owners consider WiFi repeaters that would boost the connection. That would make this hotel perfect in my opinion. Don't let this put you off though, I highly recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GHigginsSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Clontarf Hotel for one night (23 October 2013), a short break I booked to celebrate my husband's birthday. His family have had there annual holidays in Llandudno for many years and we have spent some great times here. On our arrival Joni was very welcoming! She showed us the lounge and bar area and offered us a hot beverage before taking us up to our room. We stayed in the Premier Supreme room at the top of the hotel. The room was just as pictured - modern, smartly decorated and beautifully furnished! Also, extremely clean and comfortable with lovely views of the Great Orme and the West Shore (located very nearby). Breakfast at the Clontarf was delicious and plentiful! I opted for a Full English breakfast and my other half had some bacon and sausages. Both breakfasts were beautifully cooked and served very promptly. We had fruit juice (as neither of us drink hot drinks) with our breakfast which was served in a jug instead of just a glass, which I really liked! Overall, we had a great, relaxing short stay at the Clontarf Hotel and we are looking forward to visiting again! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great hotel accommodation in Llandudno! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goddard136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for four nights midweek and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room (2) was very spacious and comfortable with a huge bed and spa bath. Our hosts were very welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast which would cater for anyone.
Very quiet at nights which also helped us to sleep and only 15 mins walk from town means it is also convenient.
We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the only room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMacs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Agree with the other reviewers - lovely hotel, great location, excellent service and food, and superb rooms. Would recommend this to anyone. Would try the evening meal as well - worth the money and lovely to stay in hotel. Great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debandsifarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I booked to stay overnight, breaking our journey to Ireland. We were welcomed with a pot of tea, a guided tour of the hotel and shown to our room on the first floor. The bed was enormous, the room extremely spacious with a four-seater settee in abay window recess.
Our host showed us the en-suite bathroom which contained a shower cum sauna and explained the workings ( it was more like a spaceship then a shower).
The bed was so comfortable that neither of us wanted to get up in the morning. However we finally did so and went down to a superb Welsh breakfast, toast and coffee.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room No 3 on first floor at top of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roytomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for one night only in Oct 2013 for business reasons.
Great welcome, followed by a great room.
Everything in the room you could require was provided, from Great bed , to Flat screen tv and even all the shower gel, shampoo etc etc.
There is a residents lounge equipped with a TV and Dvd's that if you fancy a night in you can use in the lounge or back in your room.
The breakfast choice is first class and plenty of it.
Would have liked to have stayed longer, but will return in my own time for another stay.

Room Tip: The room at the top is huge, if you want space, ask for that one. Didn't see any others apart fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
924 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing