We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR *****”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 STAR *****”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

1st time here, wont be the last. Nice down to earth couple, superb rooms, spotless, super beds/bedding, great facilities, lovely dining room/breakfast. Stay in a wide variety of hotels ,b+bs from t/lodge to 5 star park lane, have to say if there is a better small hotel would love to know about it. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Clontarf to anybody ! we know. with my regular thursday afternoon walking group today mentioned how good the clontarf is to them ! Thanks, see you in 2014

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gelderdender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    74
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
531
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for one night and couldn't have been more pleased. Our room was large and spotlessly clean with lovely furniture, with lovely touches such as complimentary sweets and high-end lotions in the bathroom.
The staff were very friendly. They made us feel at home and gave us helpful advise on the local area.

Cooked breakfast was included and very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This boutique hotel doesn`t sit on the main prom of Llandudno, but at the back on the west shore.
It`s not a big hotel but it is a big surprise when you get inside.Firstly there`s the welcome from the owners, Mark & Joni, they make you feel at home right from the word go.
Then there is your room, beautifully furnished with a big comfy bed, more reminiscent of modern hotels at twice the price.
Last but by no means least a fabulous & complete English, or should I say Welsh, breakfast.
I don`t know who does the cooking but they did a first class job & nothing was too much trouble.
Why pay the prices of the big hotel groups when you can get much better for a lot less.

Room Tip: Just look at the pictures on the website, what you see is what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

"We just love the Clontarf - Beautiful rooms, excellent food (Joni cooks an excellent evening meal and Mark turns out the best breakfast) and the comfiest beds anywhere! We love being up the Orme and the path is just across the road from the hotel - climb it for spectacular views!" I said this last year, and it's worth repeating as it's true.

What we want from a hotel is, first of all, a comfortable bed, and the beds don't come any better than at the Clontarf. We want a good shower and a cozy room too and that's what we get here. Another plus is the ample parking. We've stayed in all but three of the rooms; each one is different, but all excellent.

We've stayed at the Clontarf five times this year and will be booking in next year too. Llandudno seems to benefit from a mild climate so we usually get sunny skies and mild weather, but it's good to know you've got a cozy place to go back to on a colder day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We rate this hotel very highly;so much so, that I booked the whole hotel for 3 nights for my 60th birthday celebrations.I was not disappointed.The attention to detail was second to none,& I was even presented with a celebration cake(not ordered by me).Mark & Joni made the weekend unforgettable-for all the right reasons;& my family,friends & myself had an absolutely brilliant time.This hotel excels in the personal touch.The proprietors go "the extra mile" to ensure that their guests have a great time,& leave completely satisfied.In short,this hotel is "simply the best"
Anne G

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We always enjoy our stay at the Clontarf and our latest visit was no different. The room was really fabulous having a great shower, tasteful decor and very well appointed. The food was excellent and the usual warm hospitality of our hosts was what made our trip extra special. Nice to know some things don't change and we will be back again for the new year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and they are all very different
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I would like to say that myself and my partner was looking for a romantic getaway just for a short weekend break away from the kids.
First thing what a great welcome by the owners and staff at The Clontarf Hotel, and then we were shown to our room and as my partner said "this is Lush" it had a big comfortable bed and was all so very clean and very well decorated.
The Clontarf Hotel is a must.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing