We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Clontarf Hotel”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clontarf Hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We (my husband and 2 children) stayed at The Clontarf Hotel for 2 nights in Aug 08. Upon arrival we were greated by Joni who showed us to our beautiful four poster room. She showed the kids the whirlpool bath and they loved it, couldn't wait to get in it. Joni made us a lovely pot of tea served in the lounge and then told us all about the great places to visit in Llandudno as we had never been before.

The hotel was spotless and the breakfast each morning was excellent. A large choice of cereals, fresh fruit, croissants, juice and full cooked welsh breakfast. They also do evening meals and snacks throughout the day and have a well stocked bar.

The weather wasn't great but it stayed dry but very windy. The kids insisted on going to the beach both days!! We also went on the tram up the Great Orme which was out of this world. The kids also loved the Toboggan at the Dry Ski Slopes (well worth a visit).

Joni and Mark are the perfect hosts and we will definitely stay at The Clontarf again, for longer next time!

  • Liked — Everything!! (kids say the whirlpool bath!)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank woody69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    75
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
537
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I've visited Llandudno several times over the last year, and having tried a few B&Bs early on, now stay nowhere else but the Clontarf. Why?: -

Contemporary rooms (with great beds; crisp high quality bed linen and excellent showers); friendly service (Joni & Mark cant do enough to help) ; and really tasty breakfasts with organic bacon/sausage etc. All wrapped up in a lovely characterful building, in a great location. What more can you ask for?!

Cant recommend it highly enough!

  • Liked — the beds are to die for...
  • Disliked — cant think of anything at all...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We only stayed for one night, but were very impressed with this hotel. The owners were really nice and friendly, and very helpful. Mark informed us of the spectacular walk into town which we would not have known about. Our room was small, but extremely well set out - the newly installed shower was fabulous , as were the beds. We will definitely return.

Mr & Mrs White, Warrington

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank OurKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Had a lovely stay! The hotel is very nice and the owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was very generous and tasty.
The hotel is in an excellent position very close to the beach and a short pleasant walk in to the town centre where you can easily access the great orme.
Would recommend the hotel to anybody and would love to visit again.

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxed atmosphere, great rooms and fantastic breakfast
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHREWSBURY ENGLAND
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Stayed here with parents as we were having a family get together in the area. The owners were very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. We had an evening meal even though we had not booked in advance which at £15 a head was excellent value. They gave us a tray of tea when we first arrived in the lounge which couldn't have come at a better time and made checking in a pleasure and easy. The rooms had all we needed and the beds were great in both rooms. They went out of their way to help my stepmum who found it difficult to go down for breakfast due to health problems and all done with a smile.The north shore beach etc is just around the corner and you could walk into town in 10mins if you wanted easy. No hestation in recommending them if you are in area.The owners made this a delight.

  • Liked — Owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diydegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton-in-ashfield
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Warm and friendly welcome ,excellent rooms with good facilities.Overall a highly enjoyable stay and i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Quality.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank ralliartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2008

joni & mark are most welcoming, the foods good and so are the rooms,the beds are exceptional. Would stay with them again

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank fisherman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
924 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing