We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that we needed”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All that we needed”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My daughter and I have returned from spending an overnight stay. Lovely room, lovely couple, brill location, great breakfast, very useful detailed information of places to go etc, if we go back to Llandudno, this is the place we will be staying at. Thankyou Joni and Mark.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which despite the hotel being full we would never have known it as it was so lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOskett0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    75
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
532
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a refreshing change to feel welcomed and trusted as soon as you arrive. Although we only stayed one night we loved this stylishly furnished hotel. Joni and Mark made us feel very relaxed and we liked the quieter location. The other reviewers were right to praise the breakfasts, as good as many large top-notch hotels for choice and better than most for quality. We will definitely stay here again if we come to Llandudno.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Have just stayed here for the second time for a short weekend break. The hotel is fantastic in every way, from the warm welcome on arrival, the spotless rooms which are decorated beautifully and the delicious breakfast. You come away feeling like you've stayed with friends rather than in a hotel. We will definitely be returning !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffs
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for nights 8-9th April 2014.
No complaints whatsoever. We would return if only for the top notch breakfasts. Anywhere that has genuine fresh fruit salad at breakfast time gets top marks from us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whensthenextonethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have recently spent 4 nights here with my elderly father. Both our rooms were spotless. The breakfasts were delicious (so much choice). Amazing value for money. The hosts were lovely - so friendly and helpful. The walk into town along Invalids Walk is delightful. A lovely touch is the book they have produced outlining what to do in the area, which is in each room. Do not hesitate in booking this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank meganaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A beautiful, homely, relaxing hotel on the West Beach of Llandudno, with stunning views of the Orm and the bay. Ideally placed for a relaxing stay and walks along the West Beach prom and the Orm (if you're fit enough - we weren't this time!!) Only a 10 minute, pleasant walk into the main town of Llandudno, with its wide range of cafes, restaurants, activities and another prom (with a pier too). What more could you ask for? Competetively priced and we got an off-season offer too. We will definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_HF_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were a bit aprehensive about staying a little away from the centre. but we needn't have worried. The Clontarf was a wonderful hotel: Joni and Mark made us very welcome, our room was comfortable, with excellent views over to the hills of Snowdonia.
How nice it was to have a modern bathroom, which rates over many of the other older hotels.
The breakfasts are excellent with a good and varied selection.
We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23johnnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing