We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Clontarf. Very welcoming owners, gorgeous bedrooms, lounge and dining room, all done with great style. Everything you could possibly want to choose for breakfast. Lovely stay and even our dog was welcomed. We are definitely going to come back. Have been coming to Llandudno for over twenty years and stayed in all sorts of hotels from posh to not-so-posh and this is the best. Location is great, a little way off the main drag but all the better for it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Peony but all the rooms are good. I wouldn't mind which room we were given next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    74
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
531
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a wonderful time at this hotel. The welcome was excellent, even from the cat. The room was great, the food was excellent, especially the romantic champagne breakfast which was worth every penny and is a must try.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank harsons44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was an anniversary present to my husband and he loved this hotel. Lovely hotel on West Shore Llandudno, 10 mins walk from main town. Lovely sized & furnished rooms. Breakfast locally sourced produce so was delicious really attentive service & great choice. Will come again because could definately have stayed longer as it was a great place to chill out. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. Champagne & chocolates were delicious too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed two nights.our hosts were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.The room was spacious and very clean with a nice Jacuzzi bath and rainfall shower.Breakfast was excellent as mentioned in previous reviews.We look forward to staying here again,and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foppsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Everything just right. Very comfortable room, superb breakfast made with excellent local produce and friendly hosts in Mark and Joni - nothing too much trouble. Altogether a brilliant hotel in a lovely quiet location well worth the four stars!

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to contact via e-mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked here because they are a dog friendly hotel.
From arrival on Thursday evening until our departure on Sunday morning we were made to feel very welcome. We loved the fact that we were given a sausage every day for our dog and she appreciated it too.
The accomodation is lovely and very comfortable and in a fantastic location on the West Shore. The breakfast was superb with plenty of choices.
We have no criticsm to make at all, Joni and Mark are very friendly and welcoming we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have stayed here at least 5 times over the last 4 years, trying out a different room each time, and the rooms, food and service never fail to disappoint. Mark and Joni give a warm welcome and are on hand to help whenever you need them. On one of my stays I was even given a free upgrade so there was only one other guest staying at the time! I hope to return many more times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Humphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing