We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just stayed for a week once more at this Hotel. Joni and Mark are the best hosts we have experienced in all our travels. They are always ready to help with suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to eat at locally. The room we stayed in had a great view of the Orme and was very tastefully decorated with a spacious shower. We thoroughly recommend the Clontarf as the best hotel in Llandudno.

Room Tip: Rooms are accurately described on the Clontarf website together with photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    75
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
532
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, NI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped overnight here before catching the Holyhead ferry next morning - and we both regretted that we didn't have longer to explore lovely Llandudno, but also to enjoy the warm welcome and relaxing surroundings provided by the Clontarf.

After having spent a few days camping in thunderstorms, the super hi-tech shower, luxurious toiletries, and soft bed were just heavenly.

Breakfast was very tasty, quality ingredients,and I always give extra credit to establishments which provide Marmite :-)
And they were able to arrange an early breakfast for us to enable us to leave in time to catch the boat - a much appreciated touch.
The location is pefect, at the quieter side of the town: I loved being able to watch the sun set into the sea from just across the road, and access to walking up the Great Orme is also very handily located (next time......)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It started badly. We had already stated that we would like evening meals if possible and were told to enquire when we arrived. We were shocked by the hostility that our request engendered on our arrival. Once owners had thought about it, evening meals became possible. All of this marred our stay. Breakfasts good, evening meals good too. However, we wanted wine, weren't given a wine menu so asked for country of origin. Owner slammed into kitchen and was heard to moan 'and now she wants to know which country the wine comes from.' Not acceptable. So, we shan't go back. It's a great shame as it's in a good location, quiet, lovely views. There is free wifi but it's somewhat flaky.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 4 large with sofa, but shower room small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoniStubbs-Thrush, Owner at The Clontarf Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the quality of your accommodation, found the property well presented and clean and enjoyed all your evening meals and breakfasts. Thank you for staying with us. Mark has contacted you directly already to discuss your issues and have put forward an apology and and tabled an offer of recompense which you have declined to take.

I would however just like to clarify a few points in the review. Due to low demand we can no longer offer an evening meal service on a regular basis. When you booked you were fully aware of this. As we are still occasionally getting evening meal requests, we have a system in place to accommodate this: If we have other interest over the same dates and we can arrange it so that more than one couple are eating we will happily oblige. As with all guests in this situation when booking we ask you to either call up the night before or arrive before 3pm and then should other people also be eating we can accommodate you. We know this arrangement is not perfect, but it is done in a way in which we can offer freshly prepared home cooked food to our guests who want it on as many occasions as possible. Up until your visit this has worked very well. I should also add that you have stayed with us previously and therefore were aware of the order before 3pm arrangement that has always stood with evening meals. You arrived on this occasion after 4pm, I believe that the 'hostility' that you describe, was perhaps a worry that we couldn't meet your requests (which included gluten free on arrival), as immediately we offered to do it and I think the time which you describe as us 'thinking about it' was us merely putting to together a menu which we could serve at shorter notice.

Again, with regards to the wine, it is so difficult when issues such as this are taken out of context. We serve wine by the bottle or the glass. The first night you requested a glass, but then declined the single serve product we offer. So the second night we bought in a selection of Pinot Grigio and Sauvingon Blanc to cover a wide price range. Mark called through to me to ask where the different wines were from, I'm sorry that you understood it to be any different. We don't have a wide selection of wines as we are a small hotel and have very limited demand.

Primarily I am very sorry that you didn't have the experience we wanted you to have. We only want people to enjoy their stay. It is difficult when guests feel shortchanged, especially when it is over services that we don't usually offer and we had gone the extra mile to offer them to give a better service, but I do feel that we still try our best and felt we did still on this occasion. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You won't want to leave when you stay here. Beautifully decorated, comfy bed and top room had sea and Great Orme views. Top that off with a super breakfast menu and very friendly and helpful owners and you can be sure your break will be fantastic. Small bar is well stocked where you serve yourself and pay when you check out.I see they have won many awards and deservedly so. I would recommend you stay here when in Llandudno, don't bother to look elsewhere. No evening meals served anymore, but only 10 mins stroll to town centre where the choice of eateries is good.

Room Tip: The premier supreme room had an electrically operated bed and super modern bathroom, well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for one night at The Clontarf, on arrival we had a very warm welcome from Joni who showed us to our room which was extremely comfortable and spacious with very thoughtful little touches, we both slept like logs! I recommend reading the information book that Joni has complied it's full of really useful info and suggestions of what to do in the area. Next morning we had a very tasty beautifully cooked breakfast.The location is fabulous right at the foot of the Orme and a nice walk into centre of Llandudno. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grug1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Recently had a week-end break at the Clontarf Hotel with my wife, son and daughter in law. I was very impressed with the hotel generally, especially the Metropolitan bedroom, which was spacious and very comfortable and had all the extras you could want ie. flat screen T V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and cordials. The breakfast was superb, with a large choice and the service was quick and efficient. I also liked the ON TRUST bar, where you serve yourself and settle up on departure. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here recently and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room which was very clean and well presented even down to a Jacuzzi shower.
Mark and Joni were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
the breakfast was excellent cooked to perfection.
The only down side was that there was no evening meal available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing