We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time lucky !”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Third time lucky !”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had stayed here a couple of years ago and always planned to return but we were thwarted on two previous occasions and had to cancel due to family illness so booking number three was the lucky one and we made it. The Clontarf is a total gem, it's location perfect by the west shore and also handy for getting into Llandudno. It is situated in a quiet area and parking is not a problem. Joni and Mark are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble, the room was gorgeous and the garden was looking lovely this year. The breakfast is one of the best we have had so had a very happy husband ! We love Llandudno and we will be returning to the Clontarf in December.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serbitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    75
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
537
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent a few days at this wonderful hotel. Everything was great right from our arrival when Joni invited us into the lounge and gave us tea or coffee and made us feel so welcome. We were staying in room 7 which is once of the cheaper ones but it was great, the view from the window over the bay was amazing, I could have spent all day looking at it!!! Joni and Mark are great hosts, breakfast was really good, everything was provided as it would be in a hotel much larger than this one and the service was really good nothing too much trouble.
We found Llandudno to be a really great place, lots going on and the views from the Gt Orme wonderful. I'm not sure whether we'll return to the area but if we do the Clontarf is the place for us.

Room Tip: From speaking to other guests I think all rooms are very good, ours certainly was and the cleanlines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 173HilaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our favourite place to stay. We’ve been coming to The Clontarf Hotel now for 4 years – twice a year for long weekends. We just love the beautifully decorated and spacious rooms (I think we’ve stayed in every one!) with comfortable (some adjustable) beds, and fabulous bathrooms or shower rooms and a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. And the breakfasts… absolutely delicious! From our very first visit we have always been made to feel very welcome by Joni and Mark. It’s in a quiet part of Llandudno with sea and Orme views; and it’s only a short walk to the centre of town. We highly recommend The Clontarf Hotel - a reasonably priced little gem - delightful all round.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrannieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Was the first time we had stayed at here after my mum and dad had stayed and loved it. The whole place is decorated to perfection and is welcoming and homely. The breakfast is second to non. A bonus for me I managed to meet Joni and Mark's dogs, who you wouldn't always see!! See you again soon guys!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived late morning - location is incredible - views to die for and a small distance to beach and attractions.
We were met with a pot of coffee and a bacon sandwich on request though breakfast had long since finished.Our stay though short continued in that vain and Joni and Marc could not have made us more welcome.
There is a lot of hard work goes on here and it shows through the little things and small touches - if you are looking for a stay in and around this area I do recommend giving this a try - we are normally a large chain hotel kind of family - but this was a good experience.Would not consider anywhere else down that neck of the woods now - we need no more than is on offer at the Clontarf.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tornado43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just stayed for a week once more at this Hotel. Joni and Mark are the best hosts we have experienced in all our travels. They are always ready to help with suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to eat at locally. The room we stayed in had a great view of the Orme and was very tastefully decorated with a spacious shower. We thoroughly recommend the Clontarf as the best hotel in Llandudno.

Room Tip: Rooms are accurately described on the Clontarf website together with photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, NI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped overnight here before catching the Holyhead ferry next morning - and we both regretted that we didn't have longer to explore lovely Llandudno, but also to enjoy the warm welcome and relaxing surroundings provided by the Clontarf.

After having spent a few days camping in thunderstorms, the super hi-tech shower, luxurious toiletries, and soft bed were just heavenly.

Breakfast was very tasty, quality ingredients,and I always give extra credit to establishments which provide Marmite :-)
And they were able to arrange an early breakfast for us to enable us to leave in time to catch the boat - a much appreciated touch.
The location is pefect, at the quieter side of the town: I loved being able to watch the sun set into the sea from just across the road, and access to walking up the Great Orme is also very handily located (next time......)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
924 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing