We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a quiet stay”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July. our room was near the front door -perfect for us with -2 dogs. Only 50 yards from the West Shore & the Orme & in a quiet location. the room was well furnished & spacious; the breakfasts as good as any hotel. Mark & Toni were helpful and friendly. we would happily return to this lovely area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've just come back from a 5 night stay at the Clontarf and our experience was fantastic. We found this place by chance and the owners were extremely helpful as we were bringing our 16 month old twin girls we needed somewhere child friendly. We also wanted something grown up and sophisticated for our needs too. Our time at the Clontarf was faultless; the breakfast delicious with a variety of choice, the room spacious, clean and tidy, the honesty bar a great touch, the location tremendous as it was close to the lovely beach on the West Shore, the views of the Orme superb and the front garden a delight to sit in and watch the world go by. Joni and Mark were great hosts, always friendly and chatty. We will book again- already trying to find an excuse to go back!!!.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, was quiet with excellent views of the Orme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked this lovely hotel after consulting Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We were made welcome by Mark with a pot of tea and luggage carried to our beautiful and spacious room ( room 2). Both Mark and Toni were very friendly and you got the feeling nothing was too much trouble. Situated on the west shore it is lovely quiet area but if you want a more lively the main promenade area with shops and restaurants are located within 10 min walk. There is a well stocked bar, ideal for that drink in the beautifully keep front garden.

Room Tip: All rooms are different in décor, pick any one you fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nana_P57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

"top quality breakfast,lovely quiet hotel,very friendly"
really enjoyed 1 night stay in room 8,very quiet at night,no drunks staggering past,very little traffic noise,relaxing part of town. Read less
Likes:
clean,spacious,caring hotel.
Guests can have an alternative off menu if they don`t fancy something,which is very generous.
Dislikes:
need a ceiling fan in breakfast room/very hot when busy.

Room Tip: they all look fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had stayed here a couple of years ago and always planned to return but we were thwarted on two previous occasions and had to cancel due to family illness so booking number three was the lucky one and we made it. The Clontarf is a total gem, it's location perfect by the west shore and also handy for getting into Llandudno. It is situated in a quiet area and parking is not a problem. Joni and Mark are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble, the room was gorgeous and the garden was looking lovely this year. The breakfast is one of the best we have had so had a very happy husband ! We love Llandudno and we will be returning to the Clontarf in December.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank serbitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent a few days at this wonderful hotel. Everything was great right from our arrival when Joni invited us into the lounge and gave us tea or coffee and made us feel so welcome. We were staying in room 7 which is once of the cheaper ones but it was great, the view from the window over the bay was amazing, I could have spent all day looking at it!!! Joni and Mark are great hosts, breakfast was really good, everything was provided as it would be in a hotel much larger than this one and the service was really good nothing too much trouble.
We found Llandudno to be a really great place, lots going on and the views from the Gt Orme wonderful. I'm not sure whether we'll return to the area but if we do the Clontarf is the place for us.

Room Tip: From speaking to other guests I think all rooms are very good, ours certainly was and the cleanlines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 173HilaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our favourite place to stay. We’ve been coming to The Clontarf Hotel now for 4 years – twice a year for long weekends. We just love the beautifully decorated and spacious rooms (I think we’ve stayed in every one!) with comfortable (some adjustable) beds, and fabulous bathrooms or shower rooms and a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. And the breakfasts… absolutely delicious! From our very first visit we have always been made to feel very welcome by Joni and Mark. It’s in a quiet part of Llandudno with sea and Orme views; and it’s only a short walk to the centre of town. We highly recommend The Clontarf Hotel - a reasonably priced little gem - delightful all round.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrannieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,451 reviews
1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £49 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing