We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Lovely little hotel - the outside pictures don't do it justice. Had a warm welcome, was upgraded to a better room with beautiful decor & great shower and breakfast was made early to suit my timetable - you couldn't ask for anything more when on a business trip. Highly recommeded especially for female business travellers.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mid-walian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    75
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
532
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Peak
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

As with everyone else, we were welcomed with a tray of tea, served in the lovely comfy lounge. Our room was perfect, and way surpassed our expectations. The food was superb, both the breakfastsand the excellent evening meals - we thought they were Masterchef standard!! We arrived at thehotel not knowingJoni andMark, and have come away with two new friends, who we will visit on a regular basis, and definitely recommend to our friends and family. We didn't want to come home!!!!!

  • Liked — So comfortable and contempory
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HighPeakSongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We booked the Clontarf Hotel on a very last minute basis, for one night in September. Having, myself, never been to Llandudno, it was a sheer fluke that I happened to come across this beautiful, hidden treasure of a hotel on the internet. Trust me....the pictures on the website cannot do this place justice. We booked the Romantic room, (although quite how much romance can be involved with a three year old in tow was in question!!!) Stepping into the room, was like entering a fairytale. The most beautiful room awaited.....a four poster bed complete with a matress that made you feel like you were sleeping on a marshmallow, sumptuous feather down duvet with beautiful white, pleated covers, dusky and pale pinks and cream cushions and throws, and gorgeous curtains draped over the posts. An amazing bay window, with a sweeping view of the Grest Orme, held a sofa to melt into, that transformed into a double bed. Our daughter was delighted at the fact she had a "special bed" all to herself-it was amazingly comfy-not an average put me up bed, but a proper slatted sofa bed, with crisp linen and duvets.The Tea and coffee making facilites in the room were plentiful-low calorie drinks, every type of tea imaginable, coffees, a bottle of mineral water each, not to mention some sweeties and biscuits!!! The dresser unit was adorned with beautiful little glass perfume bottles and pot pourri rose petals, with dried flowers in the corner. Plenty of storage space, including a double wardrobe, chest of drawers, two bedside cabinets, full length mirror and dresser unit. The bathroom was amazing-very modern and contempory, with a deep whirlpool bath that was screaming out to be used!!(but be warned......you need a good hour as you will NOT want to get out!!!!) The room was absolutely spotless.
Upon on arrival we were greeted by Joni-we had had a bad day, considering we had broken down and ended up having to hire a car to complete our journey from Leeds. Being met by Joni, with friendly chat and her helpfulness made it all feel worthwhile. Immediately, we had her full attention, and she simply could not do enough for us, offering to make us a cuppa, and showing us our rooms. Our daughter was very taken with the fact that Joni recognised that she was a real Princess,and loved the fact that she was actually treated like a little person in her own right, rather than being talked over.
The hotel is licensed, and at the ring of a bell, a beer or what ever your tipple may be, is in hand, not to mention a good old friendly chat with Mark. The lounge is beautifully decorated. Joni and Mark have really made this place their own. There are many, many "contemporary hotel" claims out there, with many a large hotel chain popping up here and there. Joni and Mark have taken this claim, and given each room their own little twist and individual style, leaving you wanting to explore everywhere!!!
The breakfast choice is outstanding-every cereal you could possibly think of, a great choice of fruit, full cooked breakfasts, not to mention a great menu of things like kippers, omlettes etc, all served with a good selection of juices or freshly ground coffee, or a choice of teas. There is no way you would be left feeling hungry!!!!
All in all, I could not fault the service or hotel. The location is ideal, being on the west shore. The beach is lovely and quiet, great views and peaceful nights all equate to a perfect stay, all whilst Being a pleasant walking distance from LLandudno front. Highly recommended. The only fault being that you actually have to leave at the end of your holiday!!!! Planning to return already!!!

  • Liked — The room fit for a princess.
  • Disliked — Leaving!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We (my husband and 2 children) stayed at The Clontarf Hotel for 2 nights in Aug 08. Upon arrival we were greated by Joni who showed us to our beautiful four poster room. She showed the kids the whirlpool bath and they loved it, couldn't wait to get in it. Joni made us a lovely pot of tea served in the lounge and then told us all about the great places to visit in Llandudno as we had never been before.

The hotel was spotless and the breakfast each morning was excellent. A large choice of cereals, fresh fruit, croissants, juice and full cooked welsh breakfast. They also do evening meals and snacks throughout the day and have a well stocked bar.

The weather wasn't great but it stayed dry but very windy. The kids insisted on going to the beach both days!! We also went on the tram up the Great Orme which was out of this world. The kids also loved the Toboggan at the Dry Ski Slopes (well worth a visit).

Joni and Mark are the perfect hosts and we will definitely stay at The Clontarf again, for longer next time!

  • Liked — Everything!! (kids say the whirlpool bath!)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank woody69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I've visited Llandudno several times over the last year, and having tried a few B&Bs early on, now stay nowhere else but the Clontarf. Why?: -

Contemporary rooms (with great beds; crisp high quality bed linen and excellent showers); friendly service (Joni & Mark cant do enough to help) ; and really tasty breakfasts with organic bacon/sausage etc. All wrapped up in a lovely characterful building, in a great location. What more can you ask for?!

Cant recommend it highly enough!

  • Liked — the beds are to die for...
  • Disliked — cant think of anything at all...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We only stayed for one night, but were very impressed with this hotel. The owners were really nice and friendly, and very helpful. Mark informed us of the spectacular walk into town which we would not have known about. Our room was small, but extremely well set out - the newly installed shower was fabulous , as were the beds. We will definitely return.

Mr & Mrs White, Warrington

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank OurKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Had a lovely stay! The hotel is very nice and the owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was very generous and tasty.
The hotel is in an excellent position very close to the beach and a short pleasant walk in to the town centre where you can easily access the great orme.
Would recommend the hotel to anybody and would love to visit again.

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxed atmosphere, great rooms and fantastic breakfast
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing