We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was booked as a gift for a birthday and I'm not disappointed in the slightest. Rooms are really nice, comfy, owners and staff are friendly and helpful would recommend to anyone looking and will be returning my self in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benzie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    74
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
530
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Can't fault our stay in the slightest! The room was perfect for our few nights stay, the view was great and the friendly service made it so much better! One of the best breakfasts we have had and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed one night en route Ireland. A very welcoming and comfortable small hotel with friendly,helpful service and delicious breakfasts.
The rooms we stayed in on the top floor were of exemplary standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snellsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at The Clontarf Hotel for 4 nights in July, the owners Joni and Mark were excellent hosts and they couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were of a very high standard - tea, coffee and biscuits replenished everyday. The breakfasts were out of this world. They operate an honesty bar which works very well. Looking forward to our next visit, which hopefully will be soon!

Room Tip: They are all of a high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a lovely short break here and would gladly return. We had a ground floor room with stunning views of the Orme. The room itself was beautifully decorated and full of little extras to make it that more special...the bottled water and cordial was a lovely touch. The breakfasts were excellent, plenty to choose from and even enough choice to keep my very picky vegetarian partner happy! The hotel is in a quiet location on the West Shore, a short walk to the beach and a pleasant stroll into town. The owners were very helpful, attentive and friendly - this hotel is a real gem and if you're looking for a little luxury away from the hustle and bustle of the North Shore its well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I had the good fortune to stay at The Clontarf recently, and I would unhesitatingly add my praises to the others on display on this site.
The owners are delightful, and happy to indulge most whims. The breakfasts were excellent, and our room was large, clean and very well appointed. The shower was in a league of its own, and there was loads of storage space for clothes - something that many hotels tend to forget about these days.
If I was to single out one area that the hotel (and hosts) excelled in, it would be this - from the moment of arrival to that of departure, we were never anything else but completely relaxed - which surely, is the whole point.
We had a great time, and look forward to doing it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July. our room was near the front door -perfect for us with -2 dogs. Only 50 yards from the West Shore & the Orme & in a quiet location. the room was well furnished & spacious; the breakfasts as good as any hotel. Mark & Toni were helpful and friendly. we would happily return to this lovely area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing