We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Sthelens
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

This hotel had everything.Good food,Good location Fantastic bed didnt want to go out because of the electric bed was that good.The staff went beyond the call of their duties, giveing us all the best info around.From Harlia and Dave

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harleysthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    71
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
513
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

The hotel is on the West Shore which is a much more peaceful and infinitely nicer promenade with a sandy beach rather than a shingle one like the North Shore. As it’s only a 10 minute walk to the shops and amenities, you can do all the touristy things and then return to the hotel easily and even if you’re worn out a taxi is only about £2.50.
The hotel itself is a real find. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable on things to do in the area. The rooms are fabulous, each individually styled to a very modern and exacting standard with attention to detail to rival much bigger establishments, right down to the L’Occitane products in the very stylish bathrooms. There is a huge choice for breakfast from large full Welsh breakfast through light bites and including food for vegetarians and gluten free. The lounge is a very warm and comfortable room to pass a quiet evening, with tv and dvd player and a choice of films, as well as books and games. Probably a good place for a rainy afternoon too. It is definitely the better part of Llandudno to stay in and probably one of the best hotels too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

myself and my boyfrind stayed in this hotel for one night and were not let down by the reveiws we have read. upon arrival (3 hours early) jonie invited us in to the very cozy, well decorated lounge facing the great orme. she provided us with coffee and our key eventhough we were uber early and said she would immediately do our room (romantic suite) which she did. before this she sat us down and was very friendly and extremely helpful providing us with a map and showed us all of the routes we could take around llandudno and even wrote us a list of her favourite resteraunts and their average prices.

whilst the room was being done we explored the immediate area which is a great location next to the great orme on the west shore which was very quiet and relaxing in all perfect location only 15 minutes walk along the great orme to the main area of the city.
Having stayed in many hotels we were very impressed by the standard of the room! beautifully decorated, clean, very comfortable and the bathroom with jacuzzi was fab !!!

As we are in our early 20's Jonie told us that bringing our own alcohol into the hotelwas fine and they were very laid back and even let us leave the car in their car park all the next day after check-out.
Small but cozy dining room an we had a lovely cooked breakfast.

All in all - the staff were fab, hard working and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel was lovely and really good value and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_and_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Back to Llandudno after a break of many years (spent many childhood holidays there). Picked Clontarf from Tripadvisor reviews and we were extremely happy with our choice. The hotel is well situated (the west shore has always held more appeal for us), very clean (most important) and the bedrooms beautifully appointed with some excellent touches, such as Occitane products in the bathrooms, jacuzzi baths (kids and mum loved that!) and smart contemporary en suite facilities, DVDs in each room and really really top notch beds (something most hotels are bad at). Breakfasts were awesome, and supper was also very good, and great value. Our children were catered for extremely well and ate much better than they normally do (although the sea air and the amount they walked might also have had something to do with it..!). Nothing was too much trouble. We were very impressed at the welcome from the owners and noticed how hard Joni and Mark work to make one's stay as lovely as possible. My parents have been coming to Llandudno for 50 years and they were blown away by the Clontarf, citing it to be far superior to their usual accomodation. Whilst some of Llandudno has become tired and slightly downbeat, this provides a contemporary and classy haven. In the words of Schwarzenegger, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWfamily18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

I've just returnred from a two night stay there with my 3 children ( 13, 10 and 8) The room was large, very clean and prettily decorated. Joni, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful - offering the children variations on the menu, for example. The dining room was a little cramped when all the tables were in use but that's a very minor niggle. Overall, excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Some my friends had recommend this B&B from their travels in the UK, and me and my friends did not feel disappointed by our experiences at the Clontarf Hotel in Wales! Joni and Mark, the owners of the hotel, were very friendly and helpful to all our needs and questions about where to go and what to visit in the area. As well as making us feel ''at home'' in the hotel, they also recommend great places for entertainment for us to spend our evenings.

In our 3 night stay we ate at the hotel for 2 nights and the food and service was excellent. There was a great selection of food, both traditional British dishes and other choice. The breakfast was a great experience, with choice of yogurts, fruits or cooked breakfast which we chose every morning!!

Our room was very clean and modern and looked like it had been redecorated in the recent past. We had great views of the beach which was only a few meters from the hotel itself!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspavlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at the Clontarf in June, for a weekend with our 15 month old baby. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by Joni and Mark. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and feels more like a boutique hotel in a city. Nothing was too much trouble, and the extensive breakfast menu was delicious. Our bedroom was huge, with a fantastic shower. Our little girl loved the place, and was made to feel as welcome as we were. We will certainly be back, and have told family and friends all about the place too. Thanks Joni and Mark for a lovely break in Llandudno. Clare, Simon & Jasmine. Sheffield.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminesCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing