We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location welcoming hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here New Year's Eve for a couple of nights, it was a last minute booking. We had the "Provence" room, it's a small double with shower room, with views out to sea. The room was decorated to a high standard with added little luxury items such as Occitane toiletries, water and nice biscuit, chocolates in the room on our towels! Amazing comfy bed! Your hosts Joni and Mark can't do enough for you. Honesty bar is incredibly well priced. Location of hotel is great you can either walk into town in 10 mins or walk off the amazing curry at Asia in Llandudno with a two hour stroll around the Orme. The lovely surprise of a free buffet and mini firework display and glass of bubbly made our New Year extra special!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McrTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
519
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I loved my last stay in the summer so much I booked in for a week during November for more beach walks and watching the endlessly stunning sunsets over the West Shore.

The weather may have been cold, but it was lovely and warm in the hotel and I caught up on emails in front of a roaring fire every evening.

I stayed in Room 9 with views of the Great Orme, and I loved the huge walk-in shower and enormous bed. The iPod docking station was new since the summer and much appreciated.

Thanks again Mark and Joni - will be back for a spring visit!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We booked four nights in Llandudno at the Clontarf Hotel at the beginning of November after looking at previous reviews on trip advisor and we were certainly not disappointed!
The hotel is run by Joni and Mark who are both extremely welcoming and friendly.
They provide a fantastic selection for breakfast each morning (cereals, omelettes, full English) which offers the perfect start for your day as you go off to explore north Wales.
The rooms are beautiful and the room we stayed in had the most amazing drench shower; my girlfriend was very taken by the l'occitaine products on offer.
On top of that we had a beautiful view of the Great Orme.
The hotel itself is situated on the west shore of Llandudno which was perfect, the great orme is right next to the hotel and is well worth the walk, breathtaking views from the top. Most of the nightlife is situated on the north shore which is at max a 10 minute walk from the hotel, would recommend the The Kings Head or The Fat Cat Cafe bar for relaxing drinks and bar food or The Seahorses if you fancy something a bit more formal.
The north shore is also a good walk with all the old seaside hotels and the Georgian architecture.
In summary The Clontarf is the best hotel in Llandudno by far and Llandudno is a place of beautiful scenery and relaxation with beautiful places all around (Snowdon, Conwy, isle of Anglesey). We will be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Just returned from spending two nights in this beautifully decorated hotel. Joni and Mark were very friendly and we were welcomed with a pot of tea on arrival. Bedrooms were spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and good quality bedding, in fact quality was evident throughout all rooms. All rooms were lovely and warm. Excellent choice on both breakfast and dinner menus, all cooked to perfection and well presented. Nothing was too much trouble and we could not fault anything. Will definitely return. Thanks for a really good weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neighbours911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Cracking Place! We booked 2 nights there but loved the place that much we stayed an extra night, All rooms are very nicely decorated and each has its own character no expense has been spared! attention to detail is great, Mark and Joni very friendly people and very helpful, Breakfast Great! just couldnt have asked for more!
Will be back! See you soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garryj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at the Clontarf for 3 nights. When we arrived we were offered a drink and sat in the very relaxed lounge. Also met the resident cat - Piper, who was adorable! Our room was very clean and modern and the bed was very comfy. Mark and Joni would do anything for you, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was very tasty would recommend the cheese omelette, mmmmm. Overall the stay was brilliant and would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boobooemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

this little place is well worth a visit, lovely hosts, super food and a room that has everything, what more could you ask for

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoolady24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing