We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for £42”
Review of The Sunnyside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sunnyside
Ranked #31 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

It is clean and tidy, the staff are nice and friendly. The WiFi wasn't great and the single room i was in was very small, but it is a single room in a B&B, so what do i expect.

Nice clean and tidy and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeGoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed on a two night break , the room was quite depressing and the window in my room was a sliding large opening window which did not lock , which I found a bit unnerving( especially at night )
as I noticed there had been some ladders left against the wall just across from my window one night ! I had no T.V signal the whole time that I was there , the owner did kindly explain that they were having trouble with the signal catchment area but not good for a solo traveler with no alternative company .

Breakfast was first class ..and some.
Bedding was spotlessly clean .
The shower was Brill.
and the outside sitting area was lovely and well kept ( just needed a cushion or two for the benches )

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnysidellandudno, Owner at The Sunnyside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your comments, which have been noted.
Please note that all windows do lock from the inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a break and was pleasantly surprised. The room included breakfast which i didnt expect and the location was good as it was not far from the main promenade. There was a nice communal area and you can buy drinks for the reception. I would highly recommend the sunnyside.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nockie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

It is an old style B&B. Some renovation has taken place, but it is still expensive and tired. Stairs are steep and narrow, and could be a bit much for elderlies. Rooms are small. My single room has no place to sit. Go to the lounge is the only option, where there is no newspaper. The reception sells canned beer at pub price, but pubs are just metres away. Cooked breakfast is small by B&B standard, but service is excellent. Location is great. Parking is a nightmare because it has no parking space itself. Wifi is free and it works, although the signal is very weak. No shaver socket in bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supershape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked this hotel through a travel agent,as I needed to book rail travel at the same time.Very convenient as within 10 mins walking distance of the sfation.Arrived at about 2.30,and was made very welcome.Room very comfortable,and good size (room 14).Both myself and my wife had no problem sleeping in such a comfortable bed.Substantial breakfast set us both up for the day.Staff very helpful in tnforming us of local attractions,places to go and things to do.This was my first time staying in Llandudno,and it will not be the last.When we do come again it will be The Sunnyside where we stay if we can get in.Hotel within 5 mins walk from the beach and pier,and within 10 mins walk from the town centre,which was ideal for me as I am recovering from recent heart surgery.All in all a very enjoyable experience.We stayed for 5 days in May and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 14 at the back.Not a sea view,but very quiet.Bathroom small,but well equipped and plenty of hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay ay the Sunnyside and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We stayed in Room 22, which is a family attic room, and it is so refreshing to get such a large room. The decor was pleasant and the beds comfy, and with a very quiet location, we couldnt have asked for more. Breakfast was cooked to order, and the bacon particularly impressed. Tea and toast topped up as required. The lounge had lovely large leather sofas and unlike most b and b's was nice to use. Only downside really was parking, but as we didnt use the car during our stay was not a problem for us.
Its quite clear that the owners really care about this business and the guests stay. Reading the website, it is quite clear that this is very much a work in progress and it is clear to see the effort that has gone into this. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room was immaculate, the staff friendly and efficient. A great breakfast with as much cereal and juice as you want and a great fry up. The location is first class, near restaurants and pubs, close to the pier.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#42 of 59 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#11 of 59 in Llandudno
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#9 of 59 in Llandudno
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 59 in Llandudno
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunnyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside

Address: 2-4 Llewelyn Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £45 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunnyside is a friendly, family run 20 bedroom Guest Accommodation in Victorian Llandudno. Situated below the Great Orme and surrounded by all the attractions of Victorian Llandudno. The Sunnyside is the ideal location for your North Wales break, holiday or adventure.The Sunnnyside has a light and welcoming restaurant serving a comprehensive breakfast choice, also our warm and comfortable lounge is ideal for relaxing with a drink from our small bar area in reception. The Sunnyside boasts 20 individually decorated rooms all of which have en-suite bathroom facilities, include colour television and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sunnyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Llandudno
The Sunnyside Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing