We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay and its still the best”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“2nd stay and its still the best”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This trip I with my friend from Thailand and he loved the hotel as much as I did.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    53
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
133
384
77
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fawley
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Thanks again to Dave & Michael for a wonderful weekend - fanstatic hosts, lovely atmosphere, fab food (especially the roasts & the chocolate sponge to die for!) and of course the terrific Welsh cider! Hope we can come back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Can-Y-Bae B&B offers beautiful, well-appointed rooms - with all the needed amenities for a stay in this resort town on the north coast of Wales. But, most important, the owners/hosts (Mike and Dave) are warm, gracious, friendly and helpful. They make you feel right at home. The full breakfasts are "full" - you won't go away hungry - as well as being individually prepared. They also offer a dinner option each evening - with menus available that morning, so you know what is being prepared that evening. We took advantage our first evening there are were glad we did. Dave is an amazing cook (this is not the "typical" British fare). The food is very good and well worth the value - a better value, in fact, than some of the restaurants in town.

Ask for a room in the front with a view of the bay - amazing views of the entire boardwalk along the ocean. The hotel is conveniently located to city attractions, all within easy walking distance - as well as easy to access the major transportation arterials/options in and out of the city. It is a quiet place allowing you solitude or interaction with other guests if you choose.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We returned in August for the second time this year.This time just myself and my husband not the usual 16 lively o.a.p's. Our experience was just as good, lovely warm welcome, carried in the suitcases for us because it was drizzling, The room wasn't quite ready, we were early, so we were offered coffee and biscuits whilst we waited, most appreciated. Food and cleanliness just as we have come to expect and the weather was kind to us which was the icing on the cake.Many thanks once again to David, Michael and Sue for all their hard work and gracious hospitality. Hoping to return again in the not too distant future. As an extra, we are yet to meet other fellow travellers from the U.K. who haven't stayed there before.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Only stopped at Can-Y-Bae for 2 nights but during this time we had no concerns whatsoever, in fact the hospitality of the owners was the absolute cherry on the cake, they were welcoming, helpful and made you feel so comfortable - the stay in the Can-Y-Bae was the ideal place for us to relax - the food was good, the standard of clealiness faultless and the facilities were great, no issues whatsoever - never expected a return trip to Llandudno, but because of our experience at Can-Y-Bae a return trip is definately on the cards!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bad_Ankle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Can-y-Bae is a wonderful hotel and I highly recommend it. Myself and my daughter arrived to Llandudno for a 4 night stay. We shared a twin room that was very well equipped, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was superb with a wide range of cereals, fruit (tinned and fresh), delicious yogurts, fruit juices, muffins etc. The cooked breakfast was beautifully done with high quality produce. You can also opt for a 3 course evening meal on a daily basis priced very reasonably at £15. We ate in twice during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed our dinners and found them to be excellent quality and great value for money. Michael and Dave were really nice hosts and gave us a very warm welcome. They were friendly and professional at all times and were very helpful. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 605vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My third visit to Can Y Bae and it was, once again, excellent.

A warm welcome on arrival, a well appointed room with every detail having been considered and an excellent standard of catering. There is a superb Dinner available at only £15 – well worth making a reservation. The free use of WIFI is an excellent facility for those working away from home.

Each time I have stayed, I have met other guests who are return visitors; some staying as many as three times a year. That really says it all. Once you have found Can Y Bae - why choose anywhere else?

I shall look forward to staying when I am next in the area.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dlloydjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Property: Can-y-Bae
Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing