We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We are regular travellers to Llandudno but had never stayed at the Can-y-Bae before. We'd selected the hotel based on the excellent Trip Advisor reviews and can only agree with the flavour of the comments made. Dave and Michael are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The property is centrally located and maintained to a high standard throughout. The prices are reasonable and there's little wonder that the hotel tends to get booked-up quite well in advance. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    53
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
132
381
77
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed for just one night but can't have anything but praise for Michael, David and team. Warm welcome, great spacious communal areas, clean room with everything you could possibly need, a quality breakfast. If Alex Polizzi from The Hotel Inspector came I'm sure she'd agree that this hotel has all the right ingredients for an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgow_colin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

It is no wonder that this hotel was named the best small hotel in Great Britain in 2009. It is also no wonder that the reviewers of Trip Advisor have given Can-y-Bae its highest rating. This charming hotel on the beach of Llandudno is close to all the sights to see in the area. The hosts, Michael and Dave, bent over backwards to make our stay a truly great experience. Although our room was tiny, it was clean and comfortable with good bed and small but wonderful bath. Free internet connection is one of the perks. We got a full hot English breakfast each morning (or cereal and fruits, if desired). A well stocked bar and comfortable lounge and reading material were assets. The other staff members were very attentive and everyone took up as much time with you as needed. I would definitely stay there again if I am ever in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckMacon_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensville, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Far and away the best establishment we experienced on our vacation. Michael greeted us warmly and our room was available even though we arrived early. Good location, great view looking out over the bay. Breakfast was well prepared and quite tasty. But the dinners were even better. The food was presented well, and was quite delicious. And the desserts were even better! And frankly I don't think they charge enough for their evening meal. At 15 pounds for three courses, we did not find a better value anywhere. My wife and I highly recommend this well-run, friendly establishment. Thank you Michael and David for a wonderful start to our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phefley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Back here for the third time - we stay here when we go to the theatre. Michael and David are wonderful hosts. 5 minute walk to the theatre and right on the sea front .
The food is scrummy and these guys make you feel right at home.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wedd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

What's not to like about this clean, bargain-priced hotel, with a yummy breakfast cooked to order and an eye popping location? Arriving from the states, a bit bedraggled, we found a respite at Can-y-bae, clean beyond compare, a beautiful ocean front room, comfy bed, plenty of space and the promenade right outside our door for a morning stroll. The service was incredible, everyone was kind, and when my husband left a shirt there, Michaael mailed it on to our next hotel in Devon. Talk about four star! The lady who helps serve breakfast was just the kindest person, as were all we came into contact with. It's easy to see why this little hotel has such high ratings!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go the sea side, room 21 and 23 were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The North
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a faultlessly presented establishment. Clean, comfortable and well furnished. The location is great, the owners friendly and the breakfast good. What more could you ask for

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cogesworde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Property: Can-y-Bae
Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing