We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, clean, comfortable, nice decor, very affordable. Excellent!”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, S. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming, clean, comfortable, nice decor, very affordable. Excellent!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

An excellent, very welcoming, beautifully decorated, very reasonably priced, brilliantly located B+B with an excellent breakfast in the morning. I only stayed the one night but would have been happy if my business had kept me in the area for longer. And there was a lift so didn't even have to lug my bag up the stairs.

I willl certainly be staying there next time I'm in the area for business or pleasure. Can not recommend this place highly enough.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I had single occupancy of room 23 (a double). Right at the front of the property with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garycymro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    53
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
132
383
77
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We are a youngish couple (late 20's) from manchester and chose to stay at the can-y-bae based on other trip advisor reviews. It was our first stay in Wales and it couldn't have been more enjoyable. On arrival we received a warm welcome and didn't have to ask for anything, as everything had been thought of and provided for. We didn't eat in the evening as we were only there for one night, but the breakfast was fantastic. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Recommended to us by a friend as an AA**** hotel that had been voted best in Wales. I can see why! From warmth of reception to comfort of rooms this hotel cannot be bested. The evening meals, which are seperate to their nightly rate, were of a consistent high quality over our 10 nights and very reasonably priced. Assistance with local knowledge and booking theatre tickets etc is worthy of commendatiion. In short, a brilliant 10 day break in comfort and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Front has sea view but all to the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

3 of us visited the hotel in October for 2 nights and didnt want to leave. What a change it was from the run of the mill hotels we have experienced in the past. The expectation we were given from reviews and personal recommendation was not in anyway misplaced. Michael and David made us so welcome and were genuine with their concern for us all. It was spotless and food was very high quality and in particular dinner was perfect in every way including the service. We also took advantage of taking our 2 Cairne terriers, they were welcomed with open arms. For those of you that are not doggy folk please don't think for a moment that the standard or cleanliness of the hotel is in anyway compromised. They achieve this by ensuring dogs are not allowed on furniture, they are not left unattended at anytime and stay in their cage in the room etc. etc. - no issue to us, just very sensible. Book it and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have just stayed for one night at this hotel and it was superb. The bedrooms have everything that you need and are very comfortable and spotlessly clean as was our well appointed en-suite. Our evening meal was beautifully cooked and served on a hot plate which so many hotels do not do any more. Our breakfast was excellent too with lots of choice. This hotel is in a perfect location for the Theatre, shops and sightseeing. David and Michael certainly made us very welcome and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I have just spent my birthday weekend at the Can-y-Bae and it was wonderful..! The rooms were spotless (and very well-appointed), the bed was comfortable, the food was superb - five of us could not have faulted a single plateful at either breakfast or dinner over two days - and the whole atmosphere was relaxing and welcoming, with every member of staff friendly and helpful. David and Michael run a real gem of a hotel, and we shall be back to enjoy it again soon.

Room Tip: The views over the bay are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel is well situated overlooking the sea. The hotel has a lift to all floors and the rooms are of a good size.
The hotel is very clean and tidy with a separate lounge and bar area.
You have a choice of eating dinners in the hotel or a short walk to Llandudno's restaurants.
After the first night we choose to eat out as the meals are served at one sitting at about 6.30pm. For us this is too early and a bit of a rush to get back.
To park outside, during the day, you need to pay at the meter and the charges vary from winter to summer. Not too expensive. Parking is free between 4.00pm and 10.00am.
The views from the front of the hotel are excellent and despite being on the seafront there is very little outside noise. The hotel is just far enough away from the pier, which is the noisy area.
Breakfast are very good but i would suggest eating out for dinner.
The rooms contain a small colour TV, ironing board, hair dryer plus coffee, hot chocolate and several different teas.
It is situated neat to the theatre and shops so is well located.
This is a little gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpletravelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Property: Can-y-Bae
Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing