We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were very fortunate to find this lovely place late one afternoon when we were about 15 minutes drive away. The position was great; it was a short, flat walk into town (around five minutes), and it overlooks the water. Our room (no. 15) had spectacular and uninterrupted water views. There was an excellent little bar, decorated with signed photographs and posters from stars and theatre shows which have visited town. Our hosts, David and Michael, could not have been more helpful. We would highly recommend Can-Y-Bae as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at this B&B for one night in April 2014, on a business trip. The experience was very positive. The hotel is attractively decorated, with a nice sitting room at the front and a lovely bar with plenty of showbiz memorabilia. My room, which had a sea view, was cosy and smart - it was immaculately clean, and had all the 'extras' you might expect (iron, ironing board, trouser press, kettle and cups, bottles of water, biscuits, etc). Breakfast was really good - a wide choice of food, tasty dishes and nicely presented. Best of all however were the owners, who were unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful. They gave me a good recommendation for an evening meal in the town, and were pleasant to all the guests at all times. And all for £50 a night - great value for money.

So I couldn't fault the hotel at all, and it has to be one of the best in (very attractive) Llandudno. Only downside is that they don't take children, so I can't go back with the family. But I would certainly visit again if on another business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just returned from a long weekend stay at the best small hotel in Llandudno,had great time.The standards excellent, as they have been on all our past visits.Very good value.
Would recommend this hotel to every body.

Room Tip: No 14 or 15 or any sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donallen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Another relaxing break at Can-y-Bae. Michael and Dave cannot do enough to make your stay a treat. The breakfast is excellent and keeps you going throughout the day and the bar food is excellent a small but ample menu suitable for all. We had a double room overlooking the sea and two very friendly sea gulls who visited daily. We shall certainly be back in the autumn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stopped with friends for one night. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The owners friendly and helpful. It is situated close to the theatre so will have to take in a show and stay again. The breakfast was super which we followed up with a nice morning walk to the pier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We found Can-y-Bae using trip advisor to select a short last minute break. Very pleasantly surprised. Even though we were given a top floor room, there was a lift and the room was spacious with a lovely view of the bay. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice from quality ingredients, very tasty. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the theatrically themed bar is fascinating and nothing seems too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Thanks to you all we will stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Philipjames54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having visited with the family last August, have just returned to spend one night with some friends. Two lovely warm comfortable rooms next door to each other, both with wonderful sea views. Nice little extras like gingerbread men biscuits. All the rooms, and everything in them, are spotless, and the bar is cosy, well stocked and reasonably priced. Breakfast is not to be beaten. One of the best things about this hotel is the staff. You would be hard pushed to get a better, more friendly welcome anywhere. We can't wait to go back. Thank you Michael, Dave, and the rest of your team, for another lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a bay window, so even better views over the sea and the prom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 59 in Llandudno
399 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 59 in Llandudno
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 59 in Llandudno
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#2 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £29 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing