We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hundred thousand welcomes”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2009

What a warm welcome met us on a cold December night when we walked through the door of Can Y Bae once again !
The hosts Michael and Dave could not have been more hospitable after our journey from Ireland.
Nothing was too much trouble and the evening meal was most enjoyable. The room was warm and all the little touches really make your stay special !
The lounge and bar had been refurnished since our last visit and
we felt so relaxed , we did not want to leave.
Already looking forward to our fourth visit later in 2009.
Keep it up lads.

Stayed: December 2008
4  Thank Bridgetwestcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2008

Having spent many weekends in Llandudno in the past it was a real treat to stay at the Can y Bae for the first time last weekend. The two proprietors did everything in their power to make sure that everyone had a comfortable stay with delicious food. It was obvious by all the "regulars' that were there that people just keep coming back for more, as we indeed will do so.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ascroft_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We had a lovely week at Can-y-Bae. Although the overall quality of the accommodation, food and service was outstanding, we felt that Michael and David were constantly striving to do even better. Nothing was too much trouble for these lads and we felt truely welcome without being intruded on.
The breakfasts were consistently excellent and the optional dinners were very good value, although after a day out walking in the mountains we could have eaten larger portions and willingly paid a bit more. However, the variety of menu, quality of food and standard of cooking were all excellent.
David has excellent knowledge of the area and is keen to offer advice to those who are new to North Wales. Both Michael and David did everything possible to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and everyone seemed to appreciate the individual care and attention they received in this spotless hotel. We will definitely come again soon.

Jon & Bryan

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lincsmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We had a 2 night break at the Can y Bae, at the end of October, and had a fabulous time!

It was our first break in a hotel with our 17 month old toddler, and we were quite worried, but we really needn't have been... The owners were extremely welcoming and efficient and were SO accomodating of our daughter. They ensured we had a room that was big enough to fit our travel cot (Although they were more than happy to supply one AND bedding!). They made sure that there was a high chair and plastic crockery ready at every meal time, they arranged little meals for her, and we never once felt awkward or in the way, even when she started to get noisy! ( A big thanks too, to the lovely clientele that stayed there.. many were regulars, who also made us feel welcome and very comfortable,even with a very lively toddler...)

We cannot recommend this place highly enough. The rooms were well furnished and immaculate, and we even had a sea view (It was wonderful! We watched the sea and the prom, whilst my daughter squealed in delight at the seagulls!), the food superb (So much so, we ate all our meals there!), and it honestly felt more like stopping with friends than in a B & B.

If you are looking for a relaxing break, in lovely surroundings, in this lovely town, book now. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sunshinepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

My husband, my daughter and her partner stayed for 2 nights in our case, 1 in theirs. We could not fault either the hotel or the service. It must be the friendliest place we have ever stayed. We will be back! Thanks again for all your help.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penny35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Great position overlooking the promenade and out to sea but also close to shops. Cosy lounge and bar, bedrooms clean and comfortable, bathrooms likewise with fluffy white towels. Food great too but best of all was the warmth of the welcome, nothing too much trouble. This was our second visit and we were there with 9 other friends, their first visit on our recommendation, who were very impressed and happy with their rooms, food and the cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedgehog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

We stayed at Can Y Bae for two nights with our 4 year old granddaughter in Room 21 which has a double bed and two bunk beds and overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

As previously reported, everywhere is spotlessly clean and warm, the owners extremely helpful and friendly, the location excellent, and the meals wholesome served with great consideration and good value for money.

One or two niggles (and they really are only niggles!) -
- we couldn't get through to the hotel direct and had to book through a third party website
- we couldn't get the lock to work on exit on the door to our room no matter how gently we tried (as instructed),
- the room is quite small with only one chair: ok if the child(ren) are small
- if you are bigger than size XL it's almost impossible to get through the very narrow opening to the corner shower,
- the view from the rear facing rooms is rather unprepossessing
- there's more than a hint of deep fat frying in the staircase and bar area during service periods.

When we stay in Llandudno again, we will definitely consider coming back to Can Y Bae providing we can get a sea view room with just a litlle more room in it.

Our Granddaughter absolutely loved it, especially since there was a resident Winnie the Pooh to share the end of her bed with the Teddy Bears she had brought with her!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#2 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £30 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing