We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest of welcomes and superb value for money”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Pwllheli
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warmest of welcomes and superb value for money”
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Selected Can Y Bae (sound of the sea) from your Tripadvisor service. Bang on the seafront, easy for shopping and the theatre. Booking and confirmation by email swift and easy; good web site to browse. Michael and David were excellent hosts offering the best of personal attention with grace and good humour, so that my wife and I plus three friends felt at home and after only a two night stay, were reluctant to leave and will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    53
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
132
382
77
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Freindly,welcoming this is an immaculatly kept hotel. The owner's are always on hand and attentive. The rooms are comfortable and generously stocked with plenty of beverages, toileteries , and even an ironing board. The room that I had was very quiet. The dinning room was very pleasant and breakfast excellent. Location is superb - right on the sea front,yards away from the Venue Cymru. All at really good value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Both myself and my fiancee stayed at Can Y bae during the Easter weekend, and we had a fab time. The hotel is spotless, the food and service is great, and the owners Michael and Dave cannot do enough to help you.

I will certainly be recommending the hotel to everyone - you get more that your money's worth.

We are hoping to come back in November in order to celebreate my fiancees birthday.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinMererid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I took my boyfriend here for two nights so we could celebrate his birthday. The hotel is in a lovely location, right on the promenade and just a short walk from the main town centre and pier. The owners are so friendly and you can tell they really enjoy running the place. We had lovely breakfasts both mornings and also enjoyed a few drinks both nights in the bar once we'd been out for dinner. The hotel was in the perfect location for us to walk along the promenade, go on the cable car up the great orme, walk down the pier and have a short walk through the town! It really was a lovely hotel and we felt very welcome. The only thing was that the room was quite small but for a two night break was absolutely perfect, for more than a couple of nights it would have been a bit claustrophobic. The hotel is in the perfect location for Conwy castle, we also did the drive around the great orme which takes you either to the summit or round in the direction of Conwy. We also went to Beaumaris which was a short drive away. Luckily the weather was gorgeous!We will definitely be going back so that next time we can walk up Snowdon!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyjuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, Herefordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We spent 3 days at the Can-y-Bae, as a winter break. It had been recommended by friends, and we were not disappointed. The hotel sits on the sea front, about 3 hundred metres from the pier, and only about 100 metres from the start of the main shopping area. The weather was very windy, with rain threatening to soak us the whole time, but we could not have cared less.

The hotel is immaculately clean and gives a very friendly first impression. The owners (Mike and Dave) are very sociable, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The hotel has its own restaurant with a limited, but very acceptable menu. The full English (or should I say Welsh?) breakfast is a brilliant way to start the day, and they seem to be able to cater for any combination requested.

There is a good bar and the lounge looks out at the sea. Rooms have hairdryer, tea-making facility and iron + trouser press.

We have already booked another break in the same hotel in August.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

The hotel is well situated on the promenade with a beautiful bay view. We received a very warm welcome and introduction to a very nicely refurbished hotel. The room was not large but perfectly adequate, complete with a very friendly seagull tapping the window to say hello! The bathroom (often an area for disappointment) was very well appointed. Lounge, bar area and dining room were equally comfortable. The bar is particularly interesting with a collection of theatre memorabilia, not to mention the excellent collection of bottled ales.
Breakfast was superb - well cooked and presented with very good ingredients.
There is no dedicated hotel parking but the on-road parking is free between late afternoon and about 10.00am (not sure of the exact times). Pay and display fees during the day are quite low. We did not find this to be a great problem.
Generally, I only write reports on this site if the hotel is either excellent or diabolical. This is one of the good ones. If you like Llandudno, you will love the Can-y-Bae.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Have just spent 3 nights at the Can-y-Bae (Song of the Bay) to celebrate our wedding anniversary. First impressions were that it was spotlessly clean and we couldn't have wished for nicer hosts and food. Mike and Dave cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. An unbeatable freshly cooked breakfast using local produce and the 3 course evening meal at £15.00 per head is incredible value and quality. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanniejeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Property: Can-y-Bae
Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing