We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly, family run hotel, great food, great hosts, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Craig-Ard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craig-Ard Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super friendly, family run hotel, great food, great hosts, great location.”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I recently had my second stay at the Craig-Ard Hotel and will be returning end of June. That really sums up this hotel, I will return again and again. Rosanne and David make you feel one of the family, indeed it has almost become my second home.
The rooms are clean, towels and toiletries plentiful and changed often, tea, coffee, sugar, etc kept well topped up. If you need anything, just ask, nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast and evening meals are excellent and you can have as much or as little as you want. Lovely longe bar for a drink or a quiet read, or sit outside on the swing bench and digest the morning paper. For me this hotel has everything and I very much look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteviejQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    69
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
44
155
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

After staying at the Craig-Ard Hotel over the Victorian Weekend, we would like again to thank and congratulate the owners Roseanne and David Gee for their hospitality and excellent service we received. We found everything in this 3* Hotel up to the standard anyone would expect - even the weather was good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MightyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We found the Craig-ard ideally situated for the seafront, shops and Great Orme. We think it has been thoughtfully and tastefully decorated throughout, very clean with every care being given to the smallest of detail and all the rooms are comfortably furnished, we particularly liked the four poster room! There was a good selection of food available for breakfast and evening meal and plenty of it - enjoyed it very much. Preferring the friendliness of smaller hotels we found host, David, and his wife, Rosanne, to be the friendliest of people and both seemed committed to ensuring that we had a lovely break. We very much enjoyed their company along with other guests in the cosy bar at the end of the day. We have stayed here on a number of occasions over the last five years and would recommend it to anyone of any age, families, couples or singles who enjoy the personal touch. As always, we had a great time, thanks.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShropshireShazbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My partner and I decided to have a week away at the coast and decided that Llandudno would be a nice place to visit since we had not been there since our childhood. We looked through a copy of the brochure from the Tourist Board and after seeing the Craig-Ard Advert, which sounded so inviting; we decided to make a reservation.

On arrival we were greeted by Rosanne and David who made us feel very welcome and showed us to our room. To make the week extra special I had booked the Superior Room. This room had a super king size bed and was decorated to a very high standard. There was a seating area with table in the bay window, which overlooked the garden. We found that our room contained all of the amenities that we needed such as hairdryers, alarm clocks, complementary toiletries and a drinks tray which was replenished everyday. The ensuite was a good size and impecibably clean.

We decided to book evening meals also and the choice that was given was amazing. You can choose from either the traditional dishes such as Roast Beef etc right through to Continental Dishes, Pastas, Pies, Salads or quiches. The four course evening meal was fantastic value although it was possible to just order a main meal or a main meal with starter/dessert which was great when we went out for a larger lunch.

The breakfasts were equally as good as the evening meals with portions that would satisfy the most hungry of people! The dining room was decorated to a high standard and the tables were separate and not all cramped together so you could actually enjoy your meal unlike some hotels I have stayed in in the past.

There was also a Lounge Bar, which was a nice place to either relax in after a day out in Wales or just have a quick drink before dinner. It contained an array of drinks including beer and larger on tap which always goes down with myself very well :-) The seating was a very luxurious leather suite and the atmosphere was a very pleasant one.

Finally it came to the end of our stay and unfortunately we had to leave however Rosanne and David allowed us to leave our luggage in the hotel and our car on the car park after we had checked out so this allowed us to explore the shops for one last time. It was these touches that really made us feel welcome and we shall definitely return again!

The Craig-Ard is definitely a place I will be visiting again and telling all my friends about it!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaguarYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Friendly family run hotel,excellent decoration in rooms &spotlessly clean.Plenty of food lovely cooked.Had a great time& very relaxing.Car park which is good for llandudno.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunshiinegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Small family run hotel, with very friendly staff - excellent food, good clean rooms - small cozy bar. Nice garden facilities ( weather permitting). Excellent access to shops and restaurants. Parking facilities - (unlike many others we researched in the area.)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bookmanSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

As you walk up the path to the entrance of this small hotel you will be struck by the brightly coloured flowers in pots and beds which line the front garden. The front garden also contains several wooden benches, seats and tables to which residents and staff are consigned if they wish to smoke.

Dave Gee, our multitasking proprietor, acts as receptionist, chef, maintenance man, housekeeper and hotel manager.

We occupied two rooms during our four night stay. All were on the ground floor along a corridor accessible via the tiny lounge.

Our double room straddled the fire exit. While we could lock our bedroom door with a mortise lock there was a plastic dome on the outside of the door covering a handle. If the plastic dome is removed the handle overrides the lock and the room can be entered. In the corner of the room was a door leading to the main fire escape. Throughout our stay we were dreading a fire alarm activation in case hoards of residents escaped through our room while we were in bed (or worse still - in the shower).

The twin room had a large window opening onto the same fire escape. Security prevented this window (the only method of ventilating the room) from being left open.

As in most hotels the bathroom contained the usual notice requesting that towels only be changed when absolutely necessary (to save the environment). On our first morning we did feel that we needed clean bath towels so these were left, as instructed, in the shower cubicle. Upon our return in the evening we found these same towels draped over the top of the shower cubicle. Thinking that this was just a mistake on the part of the chambermaid I went to reception to request clean towels. Mr Gee informed me, in no uncertain terms, that I might expect clean towels every day in a 5* establishment but in his 3* establishment he could not afford laundry bills consistent with daily towel changes. We were expected to use the same towels for the duration of our stay!

In a small establishment such as the Craig-Ard, with only ten rooms, clientele staying on a half board basis are expected to name their starter course, main meal and dessert at breakfast. This can be difficult after a hearty full ‘English’ breakfast to think of an evening meal but the choice is extensive with about eight starters, twelve main courses and in excess of fifteen desserts.

The waitresses are pleasant and attentive. Restaurant service is speedy. Breakfast is from 8:30AM until 9:30AM while attendance for dinner is expected promptly at 6:30PM. Rosanne and Nathan Gee, Wife and Son of the proprietor, provide breakfast service.

In general the hotel is clean and tidy. My only complaint is about the towels. The resident’s lounge is microscopic; basically no bigger than that of an ordinary house with arm chairs for two and a leather sofa. There is a large screen TV with Wii game attached. Each bedroom has a portable TV.
Rates are very reasonable with an en suite room currently costing £29 per person a night. The four course dinner is £13 per person.

Parking is a nightmare. The hotel has about eight spaces at the rear but car keys must be left at reception so that Dave Gee can play ‘musical cars’ if a blocked in vehicle needs to get out. There are no restrictions to parking in the street but, as several other, nearby, hotels lack parking facilities, spaces are at a premium. Come back to the hotel after the shops close and you may have to park several streets away.

I would recommend this hotel to couples who want to tour the area and elderly people who favour a relaxed holiday. For those less mobile there are several steps up into the hotel and only three bedrooms on the ground floor. There is no lift.

The premises is within easy walking distance of the shopping centre, the seafront, pier and tramway to the Great Orme.

  • Liked — food quality & quantity
  • Disliked — Refused to replace bath towels daily.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plod715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig-ard10, owner at Craig-Ard Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2009
With reference to the review written about the Craig-Ard Hotel, the visitor whose main point of criticism was regarding the non changing of towels was in our opinion blown out of all proportion. The room attendant checks the towels every day and changes them if they are wet or soiled and in her opinion it was not necessary to change the towels on this occasion. This was also confirmed by the owner when the visitor brought the non changing of the towels to his attention, although the visitors request for a change of towels was agreed to. The policy of changing towels only when necessary is adopted by most of the hotels in the UK.

Other points made by this person seem to be conflicting as he contradicts himself throughout the review. As a 3 star hotel we are inspected regularly by the Tourist Board and always meet their stringent criteria.

In the 6 years of running this hotel, with thousands of visitors, we have never had any other complaints, only high praise and satisfied guests who re-book on a regular basis and recommend us to other relatives and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hilary Guest House
The Hilary Guest House
#59 of 151 in Llandudno
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glascoed Guest House
Glascoed Guest House
#11 of 151 in Llandudno
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#21 of 151 in Llandudno
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleave Court Bed & Breakfast
Cleave Court Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 151 in Llandudno
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#6 of 151 in Llandudno
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-Ard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-Ard Hotel

Property: Craig-Ard Hotel
Address: 3 Arvon Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-Ard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel where we offer personal service, attention to detail and excellent home cooking.Situated in a tree lined avenue close to the pier, beach, Great Orme and all amenities. 10 delightfully furnished bedrooms all en-suite with colour TV, hospitality tray, hairdryer and clock radio.Attractive garden for your relaxation or why not unwind in our comfortable lounge or residents bar.Free private car park at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Craig-Ard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-Ard Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing