We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent reputation well deserved”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lauriston Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Llandudno has done a great job of preserving its Victorian sea front and this B&B has a great location on the sea front, within very easy walk of both pier, sea and shops and restaurants. Not having been to Llandudno, we were interested in trying this B&B as it had won the tripadvisor award as having the best service in the world. All the staff were very warm and welcoming and Ian and Carolynn have clearly found a business they are great at. We were three adults and had two rooms, both very clean and comfortable, one on sea front and one at the back. Parking may be a problem in the height of Summer, but it was fairly easy to get a place outside the hotel in October and Ian went out of his way to help with parking. Lauriston Court is a great place to stay for any couples or middle aged and older group of adults wanting a break by the seaside. I'd also like to give a mention to the much overlooked prehistoric copper mine on the Great Orme - it's 4,000 years old and one of the most significant prehistoric industrial sites in the world, yet many people going to the summit of the Great Orme, just pass it by on the tram or cable car without paying it a visit. As long as you are not claustrophobic it really should be visited.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, but obviously a room with a view of the sea is better if you can book ear...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol-lynn R, Owner at Lauriston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you Mark for taking time to write a review for us. We enjoyed having you all stay with us.As you say Llandudno is a super place to visit and yes its great that the Victorian sea front and promenade has been kept. Llandudno is very clean and very safe.
Thank you for noticing that we love what we do, nothing is too much trouble. Ian has avery good system regarding parking and it works well for our guests.
It is with interest that i read your comments about the Copper Mine and we have to agree, it is a very reasonable price too.We have it on The Lauriston Court App as a good place to visit.
We hope to be able to welcome you all back once again.
Best Wishes to you all,
Carol-lynn and Ian :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
There are newer reviews for Lauriston Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ian and Carolynn have got to be one of the best host that you could ever wish for they keep an excellent hotel and a better welcome you could not get any were, We had a great weekend with our friends and Ian & Carolynn made just that little bit better as nothing was to much trouble we all enjoyed the stay so much that we are already thinking about next year.

Paul Weedon

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol-lynn R, Owner at Lauriston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and its great news to hear that you are thinking of staying with us next year....we look forward to seeing you all again.
We are very pleased that you had such a good time.
The weather was kind and you ate at some very nice places...we are happy to recommend.
We love the title of your review and thank you for saying that you felt we were good hosts.
Best Wishes to you all,
Carol-lynn and Ian :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Perfect location, breakfast, clean rooms, helpful staff. Could not have chosen a better hotel in Llandudno. Value for money. Would stay here again without question. Room was modern, fresh looking and had everything needed. Excellent sea view rooms.

Room Tip: Check the hotel's website, which is excellent, and pick the most suitable room for yourself.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnievisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol-lynn R, Owner at Lauriston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review for us, we are pleased that you think that you choose the right place to stay, we would like to say thank you for staying with us.Thank you also for your comments about our website.
We hope to be able to welcome you once again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Carol-lynn and Ian :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Room was a fair size but had significant patches of damp on the external wall. Small bathroom which was kept very clean but had a loose toilet seat which wasn't repaired even though we reported it.

No designated parking which meant trying to find a space on arrival and on return to the B&B each night. Needed to drive around several times to find a space. Ended up parking several streets away on a couple of nights.

Good location right at the front by the pier and beach, great breakfast and helpful happy breakfast staff.

Overall we wouldn't say it was the best B&B in the country but it was a reasonable price for the time of year

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol-lynn R, Owner at Lauriston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you Sue for your review.
Thank you for saying that the room and en suite was clean and that you thought breakfast was delicious and our staff were helpful.
I feel i should try to address the points that you have made.Many guests have stayed with us for a week and more and experience our hospitality at its best, we do try very hard to please everyone.We have lots of guests returning 3 or 4 times year for short and longer breaks.

The room you have stayed in was completely renovated in January this year at a cost of £6000.Much of money spent you cannot now see..as walls were knocked down and others rebuilt,with fitted furniture and new sanitary ware.We are sorry about the loose toilet seat, we were already aware of it, to be able to tighten it we will have to take out the toilet (as it is an enclosed coupling),this is a little difficult when we have had almost 100% occupancy since February .This is on the works agenda for the end of November. As regards "the damp patches", we have had a builder look at this earlier this year who says it is not damp, he says it is salt from the wall, we will have to strip the plaster back and re-plaster it..this is scheduled for November too,as it is not something we can do overnight when we are open to our guests.
Lastly about your difficulty with parking your vehicle. We are surprised that we missed this as we have a car park at the rear of the hotel and we have permits for the front for the hotel,we were not aware you had a problem at all. We have learnt from this that we need to ensure that we speak more fully to guests regarding parking..but to be honest we thought we already had it well and truly covered.Ian takes parking of cars very seriously as we know it can be difficult and stressful at times.
We hope that you enjoyed the Super kingsize bed and SKY Tv which was all part of our renovation.
Our lovely little place was voted best for Service not the best B&B and as you so rightly say is in the best position in Llandudno, in August at £76.00 per night for B&B for two people we agree it is very good value.We are holding our prices for 2014 too.
Yours sincerely,
Carol-lynn and Ian :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Carol Lynn and Ian, thankyou very much for a most enjoyable stay, your hospitality was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. Your hotel was fantastic and you both certainly made us feel very welcome. Would definately recommend to anyone. Once again thankyou and see you again next year, Dot & Trevor xx

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol-lynn R, Owner at Lauriston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you both for taking time to write for us. We really enjoyed meeting you and sharing time in the evening with you. We know you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for saying that you felt nothing was too much trouble and that you would be happy to recommend us to others.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Fondest Wishes,
Carol-lynn and Ian :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay here a couple of weeks ago and can't fault the hospitality offered by Carol-lynn and Ian, it was wonderful. Hubby is walking disabled but they quickly rearranged our booking to accommodate us on the 1st floor to avoid the extra stairs. Don't know who you are but many thanks to the other guests who were prepared to exchange rooms. They have a very slick parking plan too!

Although we didn't manage a sea-view our room was lovely and spacious with a very comfy bed. Maybe a slightly bigger TV would be an advantage!

Breakfasts were delicious with a vast choice which included freshly prepared chopped fruits, cereals, croissants and welsh-cakes alongside the traditional full English. Can highly recommend Carol-lynn's scrambled eggs....so light and fluffy.

Will definitely be back but with one special request......can you please arrange for better weather next time!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol-lynn R, Owner at Lauriston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write for us. We are very pleased that we were able to move you to a lower floor for the whole of your stay...i thanked the other guests who were very understanding and had different room,in fact it suited them too as the bed in room 8 is a super king, so everyone was happy!!
We are pleased that you thought your room (No.2) and bed was lovely, it is spacious with a settee, and is the only one in the hotel with a bath and shower.
We pride ourselves on our breakfast and try our very best to please.
We look forward to the next time.
Best Wishes,
Carol-lynn and Ian :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Proprietors were welcoming & friendly, could not fault customer service.
Room was lovely with fantastic sea views. Generally very clean although the shower drained slowly & the bathroom smelled of drains (not mentioned to hoteliers to be fair).

Bed throw & cushion covers could have been fresher, did not appear to have been washed (not visibly dirty but did not smell fresh). Otherwise bed linen very clean.

Could not fault breakfast, excellent. Would stay here again :-)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol-lynn R, Owner at Lauriston Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write for us. Thank you for saying that your room was lovely with fantastic sea views, we live in the best spot within Llandudno.Our housekeeper works hard at keeping the hotel's standards, we are pleased you thought it was clean.
We have taken on board your comments, thank you for that.
Thank you also for saying that you would stay with us again.
Best Wishes,
Carol-lynn and Ian :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
943 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Court Hotel

Address: 11 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#5 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £35 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning Lauriston Court Hotel is a family friendly hotel. In a prime location overlooking the sea, promenade and pier, with stunning sweeping views of the bay. Very close to the Great Orme and the dry ski slope and is surrounded by Llandudno's most popular restaurant and bars.The hotel is maintained to a sigificantly high standard and is tastefully decorated..Lauriston Court's en suite rooms are serviced daily.There are cosy promenade lounges and bar. There is also car parking. Patio area with comfy seating.The owners Carol-Lynn Ian and family strive to give their guests the best possible service, they will never be complacent and nothing is too much trouble.SKY Tv is in some guest bedrooms.24 Hour check in and reception services available.They won the Best in the World for Customer Service from TA. And The Tourism Partnership Award from the North Wales Daily Post 2013.They have an award winning sister hotel called Lawton Court (which is number 1 for B&B on Trip Advisor)and together have amalgamated to form a unique hotel giving a total of 33 guest bedrooms with the same high standards and excellent service . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lauriston Court Llandudno
Lauriston Court Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing