We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Astonwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astonwood Hotel
Ranked #61 of 145 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Excellent hotel,friendly owners and staff,lovely breakfast.clean rooms.free parking infront of the hotel and surounding streets.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binnybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
39
66
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This b & b is well sittuated in Llandudno and offers a good cheap base to explore from, the room was a good size ,clean and tidy with the addition of a hearty breakfast. Very welcoming hosts no hesitation to use again thank you very much !!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tl1000666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Nice B&B in a great location. The hosts were lovely, really welcoming and helpful. The room was on the smaller side, but it was clean, comfortable and great value for money. Great breakfast also. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squidgeykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Possibly the smallest room I have ever stayed in. (see photo) Was overcharged when checking out. No wifi. No card facility. Useless.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
130 Thank N7076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed here last week for 3 nights, was supposed to be 5 nights but the lady rang me on the monday (I was arriving on the tuesday) saying she had to have some electrical work done at the weekend and so could I bunk in with my colleague in a twin for the remaining 2 nights. I had booked these rooms (4 in total) for 5 nights each about 2 months ago so bad planning on her part. We arrived and it all seemed to be going well, she said she wasn't 100% sure I would have to move. Anyway I did and at 9am on Friday morning had to leave my room as it was being used to store things for a fire alarm system to be installed on the following Monday.

To cut a long story short, I didn't bunk in with my colleague as he was ill so i checked out and found other accommodation. It then comes to light that a family had checked into my room that afternoon for the weekend meaning it wasn't being used for storage at all, but instead she could receive 3x the revenue. IT WAS A LIE!!!

To add insult to injury, she also after agreeing with my me and my colleagues the tariff of £18/night charged my other colleagues £20/night.

On top of this the WIFI as advertised is terrible and only works by the front door, so in fact is useless.

There are loads of other B and B's in Llandudno, don't stay here!!

Room Tip: Room 5, if you don't get thrown out and lied to is a nice enough room. The one single on the ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
110 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonwoodHotel, Owner at Astonwood Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Firstly I am very sorry that you could not stay with us for the full duration of your planned stay, and I want to offer my sincere apologies for the electrical work that was been done during your stay. Unforunately, we had to get it done around our bookings and tried very hard to not cause too much inconvience

I don't understand the further comments regarding having to share with your friend (which you didnt do because he was unwell) and you think that your room was used by another family, well infact your right, I did put a family into the room you vacated but I had moved them from a smaller room in the hotel as I thought it would be better to store the electric equipment needed for the fire alarm in a different room (so please be assured I did not make 3 x the revenue as you suggested, I just took a decision to use the hotel rooms more effectively letting a family use a larger family room)

As for the WiFi it can be a little difficult in some areas of the hotel to get a signal but I do try to tell guests of this issue. As advertised it is a Free service when it works, most guest seem to be able to connect.

Please may I also apologise if you feel you were thrown out, this was not the case, I did offer you a bed with your friend which you accepted at the time, but due to him feeling unwell you told me you stayed with a colleague who was also in the town at the time.

Finally, please let me apologise is you feel you paid too much for your accommodate we are very reasonable priced even at £20 per night B&B

I hope anybody reading this response can clearly see that I am sincerley sorry for the concerns this guest had and I would have done anything to clarify his concerns if he had called or spoken to myself before leaving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

central location,great for shopping and drinking.very clean.breakfast spot on,good bed too.

Room Tip: great wetherspoons in a converted cinema just round the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milo099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Got lost and had to phone the hotel up, very helpful. Hotel lovely and clean, bedrooms very small with en suite, which is stated on the website, breakfast nice but poach egg not cooked properly . Very central location, would stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vine House
Vine House
#51 of 145 in Llandudno
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel and Restaurant Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Beach House
Beach House
#55 of 145 in Llandudno
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 9 in Llandudno
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astonwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astonwood Hotel

Property: Astonwood Hotel
Address: 16 Chapel Street, Llandudno LL30 2SY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astonwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, well appointed Victorian family run B&B situated in the heart of Llandudno. A relaxed friendly atmosphere awaits you. Our comfortable Guest Lounge with views of the Great Orme is a great place to sit and read the morning papers after a hearty English Breakfast. We offer complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day. For your convenience we also offer Free WiFi, small Library, plenty of local information and the B&B is fully equipped with Freeview TV. The Astonwood Hotel is a two minute walk from the magnificent Victorian promenade, pier and beaches with their splendid views of Llandudno Bay and the Great Orme. The tram station, ski slope, cable cars and other attractions of the Great Orme are easily reached from here as are the unique shops in the main shopping area with their striking Victorian facades. We are a 10 minute drive from RSPB Conwy, Conwy Castle and Conwy Town, alternatively within 20 minutes you could be at Surf Snowdonia enjoying the waves and approximately 40 minutes from ZIP World. More locally we are stones throw from the Home Front Experience Museum. Our local Theatre Venue Cmyru is a 15 minute walk away along our beautiful sea front. Treat yourself and come and enjoy this real 'Home from Home' experience. We can guarantee you wont be disappointed. View our Guests comments page and read what enjoyment our guests have already experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Astonwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astonwood Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing