We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with wonderful proprietors”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Marc and Sheryl - two of the best we've ever seen! They were helpful, easy to work with, and served a great breakfast (despite the black pudding - look it up before you eat it!!). The room was everything one would expect in a wonderful European seaside resort...especially in the off-season. The only constructive criticisms might be to upgrade the electric so that a few more plugs are available by the mirrors.

Marc was truly terrific and after a long two days of travel from Dallas, Texas he backed the stick shift that I wasn't used to driving in the UK into their private lot. They were also never rushed or put off if we needed the car. Absolutely wonderful service.

Yes, the place has some age to it, but that just adds to the charm. The shower and bath were great; the bed had some springs; the floor was a little uneven...but what else would you expect? And the room had a great view overlooking the town center...the statue of the rabbit. And what a great history - Alice in Wonderland. We highly recommend wandering around and finding the statues.

But the owners are what make this place great as much as the charm of the building itself. Also, and this is important, take their recommendation on where to eat!!

So Marc and Sheryl - if you read this, thanks so much for helping a couple of tired Americans feel welcome and comforted. It's greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jpeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Good location and friendly service - room clean and comfortable - breakfast average: selection good but preparation needs improvement - mushrooms a disaster! Interior could do with updating to improve atmosphere and ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

I was pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay but have to ask what were you really expecting for the price, Claridges?
We are a 2 star hotel operating in the budget market and not only do our prices reflect this they also include breakfast, which is not included at your budget chain hotels. At the time of booking we were the cheapest hotel on line and to add your

I am not sure what disaster took place with your mushrooms, however if there was such a situation with them then this should have been brought to the attention of our staff so that we could have taken action to avert this disaster.

Our breakfasts have recevied high praise and awards of the past few years and I am particluarly disappointed that you did not make comment while you were here, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here on a KGB deal for 2 nights. Very good location on main shopping street through town, a cockstride from the seafront and from the retail park. Very friendly and helpful proprietors, lovely hearty breakfast with lots of choice, and a well presented lounge/dining room. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the main street. The hotel staircases did appear rather tired and could do with re-decorating and brighter lighting to make them look more inviting. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious and the ensuite was clean with good quality bath towels. However again, the decor in our room was rather tired and could do with freshening up with a lick of paint. Having said that, we did enjoy our stay here and Llandudno is a lovely town with lots of character.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay, we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that you particularly enjoyed the hearty breakfast! All our rooms have been redecoreated over the past 3 years and continue to be updated on an ongoing basis your comments have been noted and will be reviewed when we next carry out some work on this room. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Me and my partner love visiting Llandudno and as a very rare treat for us both we decided to book a hotel and stay overnight which we've not done in Llandudno before. After some research I found the broadway online and loved the location and thought the rate was excellent.
The Broadway was easy to find and for secure parking £3.50 was a bonus for us. Both the lady and gentleman that checked us in and out and served us at breakfast were lovely and couldn't be more helpful. Our room was a good size and the bathroom was great. Pillows were fantastic too and the bed was ever so comfy. Me and my partner both work for a larger hotel in shropshire and actually felt that the broadway is a much brighter better value for money place. We had room 109 and it was so lovely and quiet. Breakfast is always the best bit for me and I was not disappointed the lady who served was great and gave us refills on our coffee without us having to ask, the quality of the food on our plates was high and was very tasty. We loved how bright and welcoming the dining room was. When we get the chance we will definitely return. Thank you Broadway for making our trip to one of our favourite destinations that extra bit more special :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleetwoodcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Great review many thanks, it was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we hope that you will be back with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Just back from a short break with friends at the Broadway Hotel in Llandudno, North Wales. We all agreed that we had such a hearty Breakfast it deserves to be the title of our review! It was magnificent & set us up for the whole day!!
Our hosts, Sheryl & Mark, were very welcoming.They even offered to cook an evening meal for us if we wanted it. The rooms were clean & comfy and the very central position of the hotel enabled us to easily see the area, walk around town and 'partake of a few drinks' without the need to drive or get a taxi. Thus an excellent location!
We visit this area each year for the Dragon Rally and will most certainly be back!
Thanks for the hospitality Sheryl & Mark!

Room Tip: we had a front of hotel room which we were very happy with
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenDroitwichSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Broadway Hotel, we were very pleased to recieve such high praise about not only your stay but of course your breakfast. We use only locally sourced ingredients and believe that this adds to the quality and flavour of a good breakfast, we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

again, the hotel and staff please all around. ticking every box, could not ask for more. the breakfast is serious pleasure! a real friendly atmosphere, well worth a visit and enjoy. looking forward to another stay, hopefully longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magnwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

So pleased that we managed to tick all the boxes and that you seriously enjoyed your breakfast and we look forward toseeing you again later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Enjoyed a lovely two night stay at this cosy hotel on a voucher deal. The owners are just lovely- very welcoming and helpful, and spoilt our 2 pooches with lots of attention and even sausages for breakfast! We had a spacious room with a fabulously comfy bed (view over the fire escape, but you can't have everything). Very, very quiet, didn't know there were other guests there until we went down for breakfast! Good location, it's a shame about the derelict, once very grand, old hotel across the street to spoil the view, but this in no way spoilt our lovely stay here. Definately recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillyfitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your kind words we were pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and the dogs too! It was a pleasure to look after you all and we hope to see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
928 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: 16 Mostyn Broadway, Llandudno LL30 1YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#25 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £31 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Budget Hotel which sits proudly on the edge of the town centre and is just 200 metres from the seafront. The hotel has 27 rooms offering a choice of Double, Twin, Single and Family Rooms as well as a 50 cover restaurant, meeting room for 20 and a comfortable lounge to relax in. The hotel has a small private on site car park (This must be booked prior to arrival). We do accept pets, however they are not allowed to remain in the bedrooms unaccompanied. Please note when booking through the internet we offer rooms with or without breakfast please ensure you select the correct rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Llandudno
The Broadway Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing