We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Broadway on a Rotary Conference at the beginning of October. Mixed feelings as some aspects were very good and others not so good. On arrival we were told the lift engineer had been to service the lift but it was now broken and also the toilet on the ground floor was unusable (not good when in the middle of the evening meal you have to go upstairs to your room to use the toilet!) Also my husband had a bit of a wrangle with the proprietor over a second egg at breakfast. This was refused but on the second morning he got his second egg at the expense of his black pudding and baked beans! However the breakfasts were excellent with a range of fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurts and a full Welsh breakfast. The coffee was very good too as in a lot of seaside hotels the coffee can be disgusting, full of chicory. The room was very big and airy with a bay window, desk and chair, armchair, huge fireplace and beautiful new en suite bathroom. The lounge and dining room were large and well appointed. We enjoyed our stay at the Broadway and if the lift and ground floor toilet issues were addressed we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 105 was great - on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQBury_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We booked this hotel last minute through laterooms for one night over the weekend. There was initially a problem with the booking as it had quoted a single room price for a double, but one of the owners, Cheryl called me immediately on the evening of booking to clarify this, so we had no nasty surprises on arrival. This was not the fault of the hotel so the price didn't bother us (£60 for a double with breakfast) and in my opinion, it is well worth the money. We make a visit to Llandudno at least once a year and I can honestly say that we would book this hotel again.

On arrival we met the owner and she greeted us with a friendly smile. We knew we couldn't check in until after 2pm, but the owner advised us of the cheapest place to park our car. This was on the seafront, and in October you only have to pay between 10am & 4pm so it cost us £1 which I think is a bargain. After going for some lunch and little bit of a look around, we returned to the hotel to check in. Cheryl was lovely and friendly once again, and gave us our key. The room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated while still retaining some of its Victorian charm. The bathroom was huge with a lovely big shower and there was a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. I think there was also Wi fi although we did not use this. The room was also lovely and warm and the bed large and comfortable so after a long day and enjoyable day and night in Llandudno we had a peaceful sleep.

The next morning we had our Welsh breakfast in the large dining room. This was one of the nicest breakfasts I have had, with juice and water you could help yourself to, cereals, jams and my fave, marmite! Very impressed.
The young waiter was professional and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Although it was just a flying visit, we would very much like to return for our visit next year and hopefully stay a little longer. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My first time at the Broadway but wont be my last. Room lovely and clean, with everything I needed. What a welcome from Mark and Sherly. Nothing too much trouble, nice chat in morning and evening. Always accommodating and the breakfast, in my view best in town!

I stayed as part of a group attending the Napo conference and the common consensus agreed we will book again.

Thanks very much

Stuart Arrowsmith (207)

Room Tip: I was on the second floor and couldn't hear a noise, very sound sleep. No noise from any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This has been our 3rd visit to the Broadway Hotel and won't be our last, we love visiting LLandudno and what better place to stay, Mark & Sheryl are always welcoming and to hand if you require anything. Great breakfast and even Jarvis (the dog) gets a breakfast sausage, we always have a family room and it has been very clean with comfy beds, everything is close to hand, shops, beach, Great Orme, train station. Looking forward to a return visit with the family and the dog, see you soon Mark & Sheryl.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel en-route to ferry, very pleasantly surprised, Hotel is old but this adds to the character, very clean and excellent location, I knew straight away that it was run by people with very high standards, some of the other well known chains could learn a thing from them.
They could not do enough and would have no hesitation in recommending or using them again, lovely place, lovely staff and lovely hotel !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel and as with our previous visit we were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely and clean although the rooms are not the Ritz the bed linen and towels were spotless. The hotel is lovely and warm and the breakfast's are faultless. We take our cocker spaniel dog to this hotel and the staff are really good with him. They even do him some breakfast. The location of this hotel is really handy to. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review, although your stay was only short and sweet.

See you all again in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

It is what it is.

The hotel is old, but it's clean and comfortable and in an excellent location in the town centre.

Stayed in 104 which was nice. Even had a newly fitted bathroom.

Hotel has parking which is handy, but it's a case of "musical cars" if you want to use your vehicle as the owner has to move his or other people's car out the way, because the parking area is so small.

Breakfast was of a good quality and the young lad serving us was very pleasant and efficient.

The only thing that soured our stay (and I've since read that others have alluded too/mentioned) was that the owners - bizarrely - are very unwelcoming! There was no one thing that they done/said to us, but there was no smiles, no farewells, if you asked a question, you felt that you were inconveniencing them. They were very cold. Like they begrudged being there.

For this reason only, we won't stay here again or recommend it. Which is a shame really as its the most simple thing to be getting right!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: 16 Mostyn Broadway, Llandudno LL30 1YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#25 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £48 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Broadway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Budget Hotel which sits proudly on the edge of the town centre and is just 200 metres from the seafront. The hotel has 27 rooms offering a choice of Double, Twin, Single and Family Rooms as well as a 50 cover restaurant, meeting room for 20 and a comfortable lounge to relax in. The hotel has a small private on site car park (This must be booked prior to arrival). We do accept pets, however they are not allowed to remain in the bedrooms unaccompanied. Please note when booking through the internet we offer rooms with or without breakfast please ensure you select the correct rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Llandudno
The Broadway Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing