We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Badgers Tearooms & Patisserie - CLOSED

Badgers Tearooms & Patisserie
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were disappointed at the meals, jacket potato dark coloured and hard. I couldn't eat it and asked for a slice of bread with cheese [ welsh rarebit ]. it was as thick as a doorstep and so was the cheese. My friend left her potato but ate the prawns, she was also very disappointed. very expensive too. We don't mind the expense if we are getting the value. We certainly didn't get that here. Will not be going again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    21
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

called here after seeing reviews on tripadvisor...found it to be a bit chaotic had to ask the staff for service and the charity afternoon tea was really nothing special. wouldnt visit again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wazleant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

So nice we visited twice in a three day stay!
After coffee and a beautiful scone on our first visit we treated ourselves to afternoon tea and were not disappointed - it was delicious.
Staff are pleasant and efficient and the Victorian dress is a nice touch too. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennyM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delightful Victoriana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We made a return visit to Llandudno on Tuesday so sought out Badgers Tearooms for lunch. Although we had visited this little gem on several previous occasions, we had only been there at teatime.

We found our way to the Victorian arcade in Mostyn Street and headed for Badgers Tearooms. There we were warmly greeted, shown to a table and handed a menu. It was a very warm day so we both opted for salads. These arrived in no time at all. The presentation was good and the salads delicious. Afterwards we found room for an ice cream and a nice cup of tea.

Badgers is a real blast from the past. The serving staff wear Victorian dress, a lovely touch, and food and drinks are served on or in attractive bone china.

A visit to Badgers Tearooms is a real must when visiting Llandudno.

The two of us recommend Badgers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jilllovescricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We both decided to try the special afternoon tea for two , which consisted of sandwiches and cakes . More sweet than savoury but we knew that when we ordered . All made to a very high standard , service was good very attentive and friendly .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Badgers Tearooms & Patisserie also viewed

Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing