We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disorganised Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chantrey's Restaurant

Chantrey's Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$72 - US$72
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disorganised Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed as a guest in The Imperial Hotel. First day had sandwiches on the terrace. Forced to wait AGES for our order to be taken (had to seek out waitstaff!!). Had dinner in the main restaurant that evening... Service somewhat better (we were the only dinners!). Older ? Bar Manager was actually quite rude when asked if "Grey Goose" vodka was available. He actually continued to walk away as he answered our query! Breakfast service was appalling EVERY day. There did not appear to be ANY degree of organisation of staff. Numerous tables waited for breakfast orders to be taken while staff busied themselves clearing tables even though there did not appear to be guests waiting to be seated. One day had to wait 1/2 hour for order to be taken. Eating breakfast on the terrace included being often sprayed with window cleaner as staff cleaned table tops. Coffee, tea, toast brought to table ages before hot breakfast served and therefore went cold. No offer to "top-up" coffee. Food (when finally served) is well cooked and hot on presentation but is so overshadowed by the slow & disorganised service. This restaurant is obviously suffering from poor management/organisation. Some of the staff appear eager but lack leadership. Very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    3
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Treat of the year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I have been to the Imperial four occasions now, but on this last visit the food was excellent . The fish on the Saturday night was cooked to perfection and I would have it every night if we had been staying for the week. I would recommend the restaurant to any one who was unsure of where to eat. It is a little on the expensive side, but very well worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marian1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have had short breaks at the Imperial on numerous occasions and always HB because the in-house restaurant-Chantrey's-is so good.
Cannot understand why it's not MUCH higher in the ratings but assume its price related.
We have never had a bad meal here and have always found food,presentation and service first-class. If it's not Cordon Bleu it must be pretty close to it,comparing well to FIVE star hotels we've dined in abroad.
Lunches also good,from sandwiches up to mains,and-like dinner-can be taken on the fully enclosed terrace with panoramic views from the Great Orme on the left to the Little Orme on the right,with a broad seascape between the two.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The food was lovely Ate in on the first night and meal was so tasty. Was a guest at two dinners on consectutive nights and the service and food was of an extremely high quality

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“posh nosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

top class fine dining restaurant , excellently cooked and presented food, so glad we chose to eat in here while staying at the hotel and linked to the piano bar as well as bonus

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank burgermaster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chantrey's Restaurant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Chantrey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing