We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food”

The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: African, Steakhouse, Healthy, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Cambridge Mostyn's menu has proven a hit with visitors to the region. It is a treasure trove of unexpected specialities (monkey gland sauce anyone?). Diners can enjoy classic Welsh staples like St David's chicken (wrapped in bacon with a cream leek and mustard sauce), or embark on one of the 'great meal adventures' and sample exotic meats and game in dishes like the juicy ostrich fillet steak, tender kangaroo rogan josh, or succulent llama chipotle chilli burgers. An extensive wine list is also available at Cambridge Mostyn restaurant in Llandudno, to go along with its delectable range of ice creams and liqueurs. The eclectic selection of food and drink is matched only by the diverse decor, which features influences from the savannah to the valleys. Offering cuisines both local and exotic on the Welsh coast, Cambridge Mostyn is just an 8-minute walk from Llandudno Rail Station. Bookings are not accepted from TripAdvisor, an unaccountable and secretive American business who has threatened to remove our business from the top ten restaurants in Llandudno based on a false, subjective and arbitrary allegation made to us as a consequence of our public criticisms of TripAdvisor on our website. If you want top book a table, please use another reputable UK based business such as Opentable or book directly on our website. We apologise for the inconvenience - but we will not be bullied and threatened by this American marketing company.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fab food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited on a whim, seeing the menu as we passed the restaurant and can't fault the food or the service. Waitresses were all very friendly and food was yummy. I had the pear & stilton pate, lamb shank and creme brulee and partner had chili pate, steak and sticky toffee pudding.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cambridge_Mostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi Julie, thank you for posting your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed having you visit us and it was really good to meet you. The first of many such visits I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    114
    31
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had not visited this restaurant for a few years. Complete change of decor and theme which has improved this eatery in all aspects. Lovely hot and tasty 2 course meal for less than £10 per person.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cambridge_Mostyn, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us again after three years. We are glad you enjoyed you're two course. Maybe next time you could try our three course meal for only £9.99.
We look forward to having you eat with us again. Diolch yn fawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Loved this restaurant the food was absolutely amazing . The service was fantastic. Will be returning next holiday. Highly recommended please try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cambridge_Mostyn, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Susan,

Thanks for visiting us. We are glad you enjoyed the food and our service. The staff at the Cambridge Mostyn hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a shame , dissapointed”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Me and my husband have been using this place for the past 3 years and normally can't fault it but last night was a disappointment I had chicken with leek and mustard sauce ok but not great and my husband had South African babotie which was ok but seemed like it hD been cooked up for hours or warmed through so ended up leaving it. Also veg and salad ? I know some people like both but I don't think you need this for most your mains surely u could just ask? Staff not overly pleasent everything seemed like a chore. May go back again as normAlly lovely

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Pam0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cambridge_Mostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello Pam, I have emailed you a week ago asking you for more information regarding your complaint, I hoped to resolve it. I have not had a reply, so I will respond with the little information you have set out in your review.

You had the St David's chicken, it is one of our most popular Welsh dishes and your ambivalence towards the dish is the first we have ever had. I do appreciate that we have individual taste likes and dislikes, we described the dish in concise terms and it was cooked perfectly for you.

With regards to the Babotie, I am personally responsible for it's preparation and I assure you that your claim that it has been "re-heated" for hours is wrong. I do respect again that with individual taste and choices, it may not have been a dish for your husband, but again - we have described the dish and it's flavours accurately on the menu.

You say you have been coming here for 3 years and that it is not as good as it used to be? I wonder if you have the right restaurant in mind. 3 years ago, this establishment was a run down cafe with a cheap menu to match. We took over and transformed the previous business iteration from dilapidated cafe to a fully equipped and decorated restaurant 18 months ago.

We have invested a substantial amount in completely transforming the business and you don't seem to recognise that, in spite of the obvious changes..

3 years ago, this establishment languished at the very bottom of Tripadvisor rankings and we have now established ourselves in the top 10% of restaurants (although that is a separate discussion altogether, as Tripadvisor in all of its wisdom classifies ice cream shops and fish and chip takeaways as restaurants too, which is spurious and yet very comical to be compared with, if only we just did ice cream or fish and chip take aways).

Thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion, if we are indeed the restaurant you have been visiting for "3 years", we would be delighted to continue that very good relationship!

Kind Regards,
Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a restaurant”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

where do I start, friendly staff, good no excellant food. A warm inviting atmosphere only one complaint it is not disable friendly as to access the restaurant is via a stairs as the dinning area is upstairs. Once this has been overcome the rest of the experience is very good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alucard1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cambridge_Mostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant. I do agree that it would be nice to provide wheelchair access, however it is unlikely to happen as the building is listed and owned by Mostyn Estates.

I am glad you enjoyed the food and ambiance, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing