We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sham of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Loretta Hotel
Ranked #55 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sham of a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Visited this hotel for a 3 day break with National Holidays. I was there last year and cant belive how quickly this hotel has gone down hill. Overall the hotel is very poor, dirty rooms, cold food, unfriendly staff. Bar was ok but you only get 6 vouchers now. (In the past it was drink as much as you like for 3 hours but not anymore.) So its not a free bar all night. Once you use your vouchers you have to pay for your drinks. It was £3.30 a pint not cheap. (There is a witherspoons around the corner and its only £2.20 a pint there.) Handy for the sea front and shops. Entertainment was poor as well 2 singers. Food was cold and small portions. Room was dirty and didnt even have curtains up. Very poor wont ever go back. Llandudno is a lovely place and i will continue to visit there just never at the New Loretta.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Richiewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    131
    99
    63
    54
See reviews for
67
160
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went with National on a weekend All Inclusive trip. Drinks voucher system worked well. 6 drinks each night. Satuurday morning ordered chicken for my wife & myself for the evening dinner. Saturday night we were one of the first to be served with the starter which was soup. This was the second sitting. As more people came into the dining room , they were getting served various courses before us Finally when they did come to us we were told that there was no chicken. The reason we were given was that people who had ordered something other than chicken changed their order to chicken. The senior waitress apologised & walked away. A young waitress came & told us that we could have one of the other choices. On informing her that we did not like the other choices she basically said take it or leave it. I was told that I could have pork off the previous nights menu so I agreed. That was a mistake as it would have been more fitting to use it for shoe leather. My wife had nothing & did without. They use a meal system then completely throw it out of the window when it suits. We had a room which was big enough for us but the toilet & sink were close together in the bathroom & it was a struggle at times. The hotel was badly let down by poor quality food & quantity. Some staff were better than others. Had it not been for the meal fiasco we might have considered going back to this hotel but not now. Llandudno though is a smashing place & would return at a later date.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kerby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Arrived at the New Loretta, thought "What place have i come to?" as it needs painting and decorating, however it was a great shock when we received a very warm welcome. The staff were fantastic; rooms and bedding were very clean; towels immaculate. I would like to thank the staff and management on behalf of myself and my family who went there for my 70th birthday on the 17th of February. I would also like to thank the guests who were there that weekend,we had a great time due to their taking part in the entrainment.
Just like to say a very big thank you to everyone at the hotel and we will be going to the New Loretta hotel again. Anyone who is thinking of going will have a fantastic time and ignore all the nasty comments posted. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 22Lauren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

whilst slightly off the beaten track,it is still, within easy reach of the main area of llandudno..The decor is a bit tired, the room however was clean and spacious. We were also in a room that seems to have had a new bathroom pretty recently, which was very nice. New t v also welcome.The meal was pleasantly to a decent standard, although I, like another visitor, did notice the brusque manner of one young female waitress,who didnt know the difference between asking and not telling customers what to do.This aside the free bar is a very nice gesture, The majority of the staff were very efficient pleasant and helpful. As for the entertainment, each to their own. Travelling with a 17 year old, it wasnt going to be a hit, not my thing either, but just what suits most people. If like us. its not you, then have a nice walk along the front then take your drinks up to your room. No problem thanks for the stay.

Room Tip: It is very hard to answer this as the room itself was a good size, with clean modern bathroom, yet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonCheshireUk a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

National Holidays changed hotels from the Chatsworth to New Loretta.

The National Holiday or the hotel owners appears to fill up the Chatsworth hotel and keep taking bookings for it then just off load customers to their poorer sister hotel and pocket the difference.

a. No rooms were ready on arrival, so after the journey we were forced to walk the streets (ok for young men but not for older or infirm)
b. Thread bare carpets on stairs and hallways. Possible safety issues.
c. FREE Drinks were awful (except coke). I paid for my own alternatives.
d. Reception staff – were dismissive, even treated guests with contempt
e. Food was like school dinners of 30 years ago -
We had to ask for more sausages at breakfast and chips and veg at dinner
f. Waiting on staff served food with distain :- like it was too much effort.
g. Attitude Training needed for management and staff seriously needed.
h. At least 12 people on the coach were not happy about the change of hotel. Several guests complained about the food quality and even went to other restaurants rather than eat there.
i. Lack of Festive /Seasonal atmosphere because with 4 coaches staying in the hotel people were moved around like cattle.
j. The hotel has sacrificed quantity for quality.

Overall a 2 star hotel at best.

Room Tip: If National Holidays change your hotel - invoke the Substantial change of the holiday clause and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MunroLiveLifeLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I would like to speak on behalf of myself and seven other ladies from Leeds who have just returned from a weekend trip to this hotel, yes it is looking rather tired but our overhaul experience was a super weekend, the staff were incredible, very friendly and obliging, the evening entertainment was good and everyone else in the hotel were enjoying themselves too.
The rooms were quite small but the beds and towels were very clean and the food and service in the dining room was excellent , we can't understand why this hotel has had such bad reviews, you do get what you pay for and can't expect 5* accomodation for £99 for a weekend with meals and free bar, we will definately go again. Thankyou to all the staff who worked very hard and made it a lovely stay for eight ladies from Leeds.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dickinsonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I organised the trip for 51 adults for a three day `all inclusive` last October from Friday 28th to Sunday 30th.
As a consequence of the experiences at this hotel i am awaiting a reply to a letter sent to National holidatys outlining the problems experienced.
Firstly, i had to write on behalf of several members on the trip who were subject to verbal abuse and drunken behaviour from a party of guests at this hotel at 2am in the morning and the consequental behaviour that continued untili 5am ealy Monday morning. So bad that a lady member was in tears at breakfast. There appeared to be no consideration given to other members of the hotel whatsoever. When the lady in question and other members confronted the front desk about the previous nights behaviour the reply was staggering quote " You will have to take it up with National holidays as it has nothing to do with us" unquote. Why National holidays ?

The general consensus was that the breakfasts left a lot to be desired as regards quantity and quality, with cold toast, cold tea, and a general lack of supervision, not to mention young inexperienced foreign staff did not speak or understand theEnglish language.
The arrogance of being TOLD where to sit and where not to sit was absolutely unbelievable.

The young barman was excellent with a pleasant disposition but the ` one glass one drink, and the queuing for drinks left a lot to be desired.

The entertainment was well,like this.
If you got the first meal sitting at 6.30pm you got the best seats for the evening entertainment.
If you got the 7pm sittting you were left in the conservatory looking through the windows and the walls. Kind of isolated and not if you know what I mean.
If you got a 6.30pm Friday you got the 7.00pm Saturday night, all good fun.

I understand two other members of the party have written to National Holiday concerning their experiences at this hotel.
This `holiday` came at a price of £5929 for three days so I suppose you only get what you pay for? .

i am sure the Hotel was just unlucky for this party, but i hope they can overcome the matters mentioned above.
Probably the majority of clients that weekend enjoyed their stay and will go again, I hope so.

However for some that will not be the case.

Many thanks for your time, Brian lee.

Room Tip: At the back where you will not hear the trafficand late night rowdy party drinkers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank superpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#52 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#39 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Loretta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Loretta Hotel

Property: The New Loretta Hotel
Address: 14-22 Deganwy Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The New Loretta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Loretta Hotel
New Loretta Llandudno
The New Loretta Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing