We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Loretta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Loretta Hotel
Ranked #57 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dated but comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The meals were very good. The hotel is dated from the 60's, wallpaper in each room seems to be from the old ages and the carpets need a good cleaning or changing. The evening entertainment was very good, male singers with a wide variety of songs.

The hotel itself seems to have been 3 terraced houses knocked into one with the windows removed and a phasic conservatory added across the front.

The town itself has a few shops, apart from the cable car up the mountain there is not much to do. O.K if you want a quiet holiday.

Room Tip: Only one lift, used by everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_2387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    127
    98
    61
    54
See reviews for
66
153
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just had a short weekend here - lots of reviews go on about the decor & in parts it could do with a little attention - but have to say for the price its good value, not 5 star but thats exaclty what you are NOT paying for.
Room was spotless-bedding crisp & fresh- telly ok - plenty of tea & coffee provided en suite good-breakfast ok.
Staff very helpful & friendly especially Colin (night porter) who let us in & opened the bar for us & nothing was too much trouble - definitely go back if prices stay reasonable.
Thanks see you again soon

Room Tip: no sea views but close to the prom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Love the hotel service exelent girl on desk moved her car so we could park ours there ,only 6parking spaces for the hotel peaple were having to walk fair distance with there luggage good entertainment breakfast really good room on bottom floor so no climbing stairs could do with brightening up with a lick of paint but over all I would go back again didn't have a evening meal in hotel ate out

Room Tip: We were pleased with our room spacious clean on the ground floor no noise from traffic big bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARILYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel could do with a bit of decorating but my room, 405, was very spacious for a single room. I have stayed in smaller double rooms! The bed was comfortable, big bathroom, lots of TV channels to choose from and a niceish view from the window... if you looked above the rooftops and back yards you could see the sea and the mountains beyond. The breakfast was good, even catering for vegetarians. The 2 waitresses coped really well in a very busy environment. The evening entertainment in the bar was excellent and even though I was on my own I felt included. I was able to park my car outside the hotel which was a bonus but the parking is limited. The staff are friendly and helpful and I will certainly be staying here again. If you come here expecting a 5* experience then you will be disappointed but for the price they charge

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank pat5853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is like home from home, unfortunately my home also needs the rooms decorating, new bedroom carpet, a new bathroom and the food isn't brilliant. However my home isn't close to the sea front and the service is friendlier so for the price don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back of the hotel so a pretty bleak outlook, I guess ones at the front were better b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

It isn't the Ritz but for the price paid its very good, the only thing I didn't like was the shower, not a lot of room in it and nowhere to put anything. Also the shower was leaking through the ceiling and dripping onto the carpeted floor below we did advise them of this but no one came to check just placed a bucket and a wet floor sign next to the wet carpet.
The room we had was spacious but there was still nowhere to put anything and did not like the wardrobe/cupboard as it was boiling hot inside.
But overall it was fine for the price

Room Tip: Our room was 212 and we didn't hear any noise from below. Only the seagulls which is to be expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durhamwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Its like stepping back in time to the 1970's, shabby decoration, sticky carpets, practically unusable toilet due to the fact the sink is on your lap when you sit on it and my husband is 6'2", terrible food and embarrassing lack of quality.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 112 it has the worst laid out bathroom unless you like to multitask and wash yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Loretta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Loretta Hotel

Property: The New Loretta Hotel
Address: 14-22 Deganwy Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The New Loretta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Loretta Hotel
New Loretta Llandudno
The New Loretta Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing