We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Shore Beach Cafe

West Shore Beach Cafe
Ranked #32 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We visit Llandudno every year and always make many visits to the cafe. The staff are always friendly and the food is always very good and well priced. The location is great as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hi Peter H Thanks very much for your review and your positive comments, it's very much appreciated. I've shared your comments with the team. Many thanks Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    66
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great little place in an ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've been wanting to visit this café for a while and, due to the winter storms, they have only recently reopened. We went last week and had a lovely lunch and cuppa. The staff are friendly and helpful and the portions are very reasonable. The location is ideal, right on the West Shore Beach. Unfortunately for us it was a blustery and cool day but we'll definitely be back in the sunshine to enjoy the amazing views.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hi Rosa C I'm glad we didn't let you down having waited for a while to visit us, it's been a strange year, thanks for your support and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your lunch. Thanks so much for your review, I've shared your comments with the team. Thanks again. Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A spot to die for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Placed in a spot to die for this licensed café is just waiting for the right people to run it come along. Possibly the best vantage point in the area its begging for improvement. It has the potential to become the place to go to for breakfast, lunch and dinner too. We decided to visit for a light lunch before taking the amazing walk along the beach to the next small village of Deganwy. We ordered some spicy sounding snacks and a bottle of Rose wine; perfect for an early summer lunch time. The wine was fine and moderately priced too but the food was bland and not as tasty as we had hoped. Service was pleasant enough although clearly inexperienced.There is a large outside area ideally placed and tempting customers to extend their stay for an hour or so. We prepared to settle down and have lunch there too but alas we felt so uncomfortable because of the amount of people who were without a table that we left after just 40 minutes sooner than we wanted to. Just as well really because someone had tied their dog up right besides our table and the barking was getting to me. Time to move on we thought. The owner of the café should invest in an outside covered area and on more tables and chairs and on training the staff, especially the chef. Having said that, we will return, it takes time to get things right.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
FraternalNed I'm going to ignore the nasty offensive comments you've made and concentrate on the points you've made. Your review is actually quite insipid !!

You mentioned: Service being pleasant but inexperienced: Well you can't teach experience, the main starting point is, a polite friendly and pleasant attitude toward customers. I'm proud of the team they do an excellent job, and most of them have been here 3 years or more.

You mentioned the tasty 'SOUNDING' snacks were bland !! Well that's hardly surprising is it ? You had decided you were getting something spicy - maybe it would have been a good idea to ask a member of staff if the dishes were actually spicy when ordering ? or you could have asked us to add some spice if that is what you wanted. I remember you had the Hummus and i think you also had Fried new potatoes in Bravas Sauce - both dishes are spiced, but not particularly spicy !!!!!! We need a little help if you want something specific. And they couldn't have been that bad as you said you were GOING TO STAY FOR LUNCH !!!!! Until a barking dog annoyed you - which I know can be annoying but most dogs behave and he probably would have quietened down once the owner returned. Not much we could do about that i'm afraid.

You were right about the tables though - we lost all our outside furniture in the flood - so replaced them with tables and chairs from a company called WORLDSTORES - 6 sets and 3 of the tables had problems - so instead of 6 tables with 4 chairs - we had 3 tables with 6 chairs plus about 6 sets of small rounds outside - a net loss of 6 seats !! The new furniture has been a problem, which we're sorting out !! Having said that, you were here on a sunny day during school hols - if we weren't busy I'd be worried.

Having said all that, YOU STILL GAVE US A SCORE OF 3 OUT OF 5 AND SAID YOU PLAN TO RETURN ?

So to sum up, I've found your review a bit confusing, nothing that bad - you've reviewed most of Llandudno with a score of 3 - yet The Lilly, just 500 metres away you gave 5 - so the answers simple. Please Go there in future !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancishire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This friendly beach cafe is great!!! The cakes are espesially good and all homemade. The atmosphere is casulal but that is what you expect for a neach cafe

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eviepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hi Eviepops. Your review of the cafe is very much appreciated, i've shared your comments with the team. Thanks again :-) Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“prom pearl!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

really nice staff at this cafe, and food surprisingly good, spent a sunny afternoon on prom and cafe well worth a visit, food tasted very fresh, all our party commented on this! well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hi Edward G Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to write your review - it did make me laugh that you said, 'surprisingly good food', but I do know what you mean. I've shared your comments with our hard working team, thanks again. Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Shore Beach Cafe also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to West Shore Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing