We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian restaurant in Ipswich by far”
Review of A Passage to India

A Passage to India
Ranked #17 of 440 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian, Persian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The home of exotic spices BAR AND LOUNGE NEW FIND US ON FACEBOOK , TWITTER EST.1991: THANK YOU TO ALL OUR LOYAL CUSTOMERS, FRIENDS AND FAMILY Welcome to A PASSAGE TO INDIA RESTAURANT , We offer a wide selection of Indian, Bangladeshi, English Cusines and a good selection of fine wines. WE aim to bring you large varieties of eastern and western delights. AUTHENTIC, TRADITIONAL, AND CONTEMPORARY DISHES SERVED IN A COMFORTABLE AND RELAXING SURROUNDINGS, very extensive menu provides the very best cuisines from many regions of famous sub-continents. Is FULLY LICENSED SERVING A WIDE SELECTION OF WINES AND BEERS FRoM EAST to WEST AROUND THE WORLD. We cater for vegetarians and non-vegetarians, NO animal fat is used in our cooking, all chicken dishes use only 100% prime breast. PLEASE NOTE: Some of our dishes contain ALMONDS, SULTANA, *FINEST INGREDIENTS *WE CATER FOR VEGANS AND NON-VEGANS * THE RESTURANT HAS BEED VOTED THE BEST LOCAL RESTURANT OF 2010 /2013 DECEMBER IN THE SPICE TIMES PUBLIC DECIDES VOTE AWARD. THE HOME OF EXOTIC SPICES AT YOUR DOOR STEP!
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Ipswich by far”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have eaten here many times and always had outstanding quailty, service and value for money. Whether for a family meal, business night out or even a romantic dinner for two the set menus are fantastic value.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APASSAGETOINDIA, General Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
thank you from the staff and manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    41
    16
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First timer - with a regular”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I were fortunate enough to win a voucher towards a meal at this restaurant so decided to go with our son who has been there in the past.

Pretty place - all beams and tables/chairs scattered across three zones but boy was it cold (we did arrive early 6.15pm!!). The welcome was good and the food was very good - different from some of the standard indian take-aways i'd had in the past. We were too full for dessert!

Would be happy to go again but perhaps when the heating kicks in!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APASSAGETOINDIA, Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Waited 45 minutes for .....no excuse for cold food....full of salt but lacking flavour...on the slippery slope this one”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

If zero was a rating this would have been more appropriate. We had turned up not realising that you had to book as we were staying in a hotel down the road. The restaurant has a strange pub like layout with tables crammed into different areas of the connecting rooms. We were advised that a table would be available and were seated next to a large table with an office party gatherings. We could clearly hear customers complaining about the long wait for food, plates not being cleared away and dinners not consumed placed on itemised bills. We were offered popodums and the sauce carousel was clearly used by previous guests as it was almost empty. The wait for food was pathetic, 4 waiters chasing their tails. They heard us ask to place an order but were ignoring us and other customers. These types of businesses go to the pan fast and this one is on a slippery downhill slope. The starters arrived and the portion sizes were mean and overpriced. It felt like we were being mugged off. The people on the table next to us were complaining about a dish ordered that had too much spice and her mouth was on fire. No apology was given but she was handed another dish. When leaving this group were complaining about additional dishes not ordered or consumed and extra alcohol bring placed on their group bill. They were very unhappy. The table opposite had a family group eating. There was a dispute about food quality and the person was refusing to pay. Watching the staff working was like watching headless chickens. Food was coming out wrong and food was cold. Our starters were poor and after 45 minutes the main dish arrived. I ordered chicken shashlick and this should be sizzling but was cold. The only good selection was on the desserts which were nice but being already prepared and frozen, little effort is needed to deliver to the table. We had to ask 7 times for the bill, I was counting. They were ignoring our requests for the bill so I put on my cost and stood up, I was still ignored by the headless chicken like waiters. I then asked directly for the bill as we were going. There seemed to be a problem with a very drunk bum in the restaurant. He stood up and then fell over landing on a family group who were eating in the corner. I went to the toilet and there he was in the females toilet. The waiters were telling him not to go in there again and he just said he was wasted. Serving alcohol to a drunk person is asking for trouble. We watched as yet another drunk group of yobs came in and were seated next to us. They kept making snide remarks towards other diners and then tried to start on my boyfriend. I gave them that look and they backed off but the waiters just continued to serve them alcohol. This is not a cultured indian restaurant, it is more like the local drunks HQ. There are better restaurants who treat their paying customers with respect and would throw out the drunks rather than ply them with yet more booze. I guess only a drunk would not realise that the food is full of salt rather than flavour. I believe the excessive salt is added to make you thirsty and then to increase drink sales. We will not return, but I do not believe a restaurant catering for the local drunks will be in business for very long, especially one on a slippery slope like this. The staff are ignorant and down right rude, they heard us clearly but walked by ignoring us. How rude.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APASSAGETOINDIA, General Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I've had better”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is ok but it doesn't merit anyone visiting on a regular basis. It's location will probably see it always pick up trade anyway.

I wouldn't recommend this place as:

The service by the staff is slow and inattentive. Our food took ages to reach us and our table was left uncleared for too long. We had to ask for the bill twice!
The food is ok but has a lot of salt.

They have a fine selection of desserts though.

The staff would probably provide a better service if they was more of them; it's a fairly sized restaurant but there was only 4 waiters.

The staff would also be more courteous and smiley if they didn't encounter the casual racism from some of their (young male) clientele. It was unfortunate for me and my girlfriend to see and hear this. But sad that the staff have to deal with such moronic people.

Helpful?
Thank Mazio1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APASSAGETOINDIA, General Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful, awful service!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Attended for a meal with my husband's work colleagues. Whilst the food was OK (the portions were mean), the service was awful. We had to ask for drinks when we sat at the table (after a 15 minute wait). The fact we wanted separate bills appeared to annoy the waiter who proceeded to give us some serious attitude. We waited nearly 30 minutes to have our order taken. When it arrived, some dishes were missing from the orders. Then there was the 20 minute wait for plates to be cleared once everyone was finished. After another 20 minutes, menus chucked at us if we wanted pudding. my husband then had to find a waiter to ask for the bills. At every point of the evening, every waiter was rude, short, uninterested and every request was a hardship. All appear to have an attitude problem. VERY disappointing. This was not our usual indian and we certainly will not return or recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APASSAGETOINDIA, General Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Passage to India also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to A Passage to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing