We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bentley Tower Hotel, Ipswich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bentley Tower Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bentley Tower Hotel, Ipswich”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I chose this hotel as the reviews were good and I wanted a hotel near the Suffolk Record Office which had car parking. Our room was spotlessly clean, though at the top of a narrow staircase which could be difficult for anyone at all disabled. Staff were courteous, breakfast was fine and I thought the hotel offered excellent value for money. The hotel is on a main bus route, which made travelling in and out of Ipswich easy.

Room Tip: Double-glazing meant that our room was quiet, even though it overlooked the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    12
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
16
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Daughter in law arranged 2 nights b/b for us to enable us to attend her sisters 40th party. Great choice! Quite a place, very unique, comfortable room, nice power shower and great breakfast!! Location excellent, short walk into shops and in our case a little longer walk to party venue! Loved the Film Posters, memories of having seen the pictures!! Fantastic little garden area and what wisterias!! Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobsey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My mum and I stayed in a twin room with en-suite shower room, up in the rafters. Really lovely place. Old style movie poster prints everywhere which is really interesting. Lovely breakfast - and if you want breakfast book direct with the hotel not via anything online. Sadly it rained while we were there so we couldn't check out the garden, but the brief view from the bedroom it looked lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My best friend and I stayed at this hotel in 2012 for one night as a stop over. The hotel was exactly what we would've wanted. Lots of character, we loved the film posters and homely feel of it, it felt so warming. It is a bit of an Aladdins cave, so if you're into ultra modern it probably isn't the one for you, but we loved it. The owners/staff were ever so friendly and warm and we wished we could've stayed longer. We didn't want to leave and if we're ever that way again, it is the only place we would stay. Right up our street!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It is a small and decent hotel, if the room rate is low. It is very basic and clean. You need to be careful when you book it, as when I did, it talked about english breakfast, but it did not say it is included or you have to pay for it. When i got to the hotel, they said breakfast was not included. I thought the rate I paid was too high considering what the hotel offered. The rate would have been fair if breakfast was included. I arrived late so welcoming was a bit odd. I asked about breakfast and I felt the person at reception was not feeling very talkative or welcoming. Just gave me the key and said where my room was. When I came down in the morning, they told me that if I have had booked the room directly through them, I would have paid cheaper and breakfast would be included.

In summary, hotel is very clean, it looks pleasant, with basic things in the bedroom. Pillowcases were stainned, so I felt unsure about using pillows and the noise at night from the street kept me waking up, so my sleep was not good at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Liked this place, this is a nice hotel, my room was a single with en suite. Very clean freshly decorated all through the hotel. Cumfy cosy bed with good quality bedding, very homely place. I had to pay for my breakfast £3.50 for continental, Or £7something for cooked. This is due to booking through.a third party, so if you stay here. Book direct, or there's no breaky.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Although the decor (film noir theme) may not be up to all tastes, i felt that the it gives the Bentley Tower Hotel a uniqueness that is absent in the ubiquitous corporate box.

The room was spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was fit for purpose. The breakfast was superb.

I found the the people running the place very helpful and courteous ( so I am puzzled by a couple of the previous reviews).

I was lucky enough that I stay on a fine summers evening (rare I know) so was able to enjoy the lovely patio area and garden with a couple of cheeky drinks before venturing out for the evening.

All in all I hearterly recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gatehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Tower Hotel

Property: Bentley Tower Hotel
Address: 172 Norwich Road, Ipswich IP1 2PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bentley Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Tower Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing