We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B at Friends - Perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sidegate Guest House
Ranked #7 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“B&B at Friends - Perfect!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This B & B is more than you can expect. Immaculate throughout. Cannot but highly praise the owners for running it so well. How best to describe the experience? ... Perfection and warmth.
Highly recommended,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piatosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
39
16
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed on two occasions in August 2012. This is such a welcoming guest house, a home from home, and was a joy to stay in. I have no hesitation in highly recommending Sidegate Guest House which is a 30-40minute walk from Ipswich centre, with easy access to bus routes and main roads.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My niece and I stayed in sidegate guest house for 2 nights in August 2012, we found it to be spotless in every way and of a very high standred indeed. We were able to make tea and coffee in the room with a nice little packet of biscuits to have with it. there were very nice toiletries in the shower room and fresh towels every day and plenty of hot water. The breakfast was really good with choice of juice, cereal, and fresh fruit. Our order was taken for cooked breakfast with a good choice of lovely fresh cooked items. The owners were a very nice couple who were very helpful without being in your face all the time. All in all a very plesant stay and I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norma783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

What a beautiful Guest House. Richard and Sally are so welcoming. Everything you could want and nothing too much trouble. Fresh fruit, fresh coffee, gorgeous breakfasts, wonderful beds. The best nights sleep away from home! And if you are a dog lover the cutest Brown Labrador you ever did see.

Well Done to you both xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I booked to stay at the guesthouse for all my family to be able to attend a very important family party.
The rooms are spotless and comfortable.
Sally and Richard are really great hosts and breakfast is prepared when you order it.
Nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel really welcome.
This guesthouse has tourist board recommendation as well as Tripadvisor creditation for 2011.
Well deserved.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hospitalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Had a lovely stay at the Sidegate Guest house. We stayed two nights, Richard and Sally were determined to ensure we had a comfortable stay. They have a lovely sitting room for guests with papers, magazines etc available. The breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice and really good quality. This is a very relaxing place to stay, nothing is too much trouble and we would definitely recommend it and return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Firstly I must appologise for not posting sooner. I would not normally have opted for B & B but recently attended the Orwell Bluegrass music festival just outside Ipswich at the beginning of May 2012. I could not find a Hotel to my likeing and ran out of time so grabbed the Sidegate B & B at the last minute.
From now on whenever I stay in Ipswich the Sidegate will be my first choice. It really was a most beautiful place. Food was excellent. Probably one of the best English breakfast I have had. The standard is exceptionally high. The room was very peaceful and tastefully decorated. I have paid way above the Sidegate charges for much less. Sally and Richard are so warm and wellcoming. They really have steered me away from Hotels which I could always find some minor complaint with. Hats off to the Sidegate. Mario & Carol

Room Tip: Any room is fine. The location is very peaceful. All of the rooms are of an exceptionally high stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandolfEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
840 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#14 of 18 in Ipswich
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Times Guest House
0.3 mi away
Lattice Lodge
Lattice Lodge
#5 of 35 in Ipswich
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidegate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidegate Guest House

Property: Sidegate Guest House
Address: 121 Sidegate Lane, Ipswich IP4 4JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sidegate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptionally high standard of accommodation and comfort with high pressure en suite showers, flat screen televisions with Freeview and Fairtrade refreshments. Locally sourced breakfasts and free wireless broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sidegate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidegate Guest House Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing