We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sidegate Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sidegate Guest House
Ranked #5 of 36 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An outstanding stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Sidegate Guest House (Room 1) is a fantastic place to stay. I was in Ipswich for work and wanted somewhere to stay which was comfortable, welcoming and good for working in. This was perfect.

In terms of working the room is well-lit and has well-located sockets and free WiFi.

And the room itself is cosy and beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. You even have a lovely snuggly bathrobe to use.

And then there's the breakfast. Definitely one of the best I have ever had. The fresh fruit salad was to die for and the full English breakfast all locally sourced.

Thank you Sally and Richard. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Ipswich!

Room Tip: Room 1 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
39
16
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Sally and Richard obviously work really hard to maintain a high standard here.
Room 1 was well decorated and perfectly clean. The shower room was tiny but again perfectly clean.
Considering they own a labrador, you'd never know it as the hotel does not have that tell tale doggy smell.
The breakfast was to die for - possibly the best full cooked breakfast I've had.
The lounge and breakfast room are beautifully decorated.
Sally and Richard can offer informed critique of local restaurants too.
I can highly recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Animale_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were very lucky to have an overnight stay with Richard and Sally at this lovely guest house. Our room was comfortable clean and everything was to hand. Nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel like a friend. The breakfast was first rate as well as all the usual cereal and yoghurts the cooked breakfast are fresh and wonderfully hot. Looking forward to many more visits thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Travelling extensively with my companion dog I sometimes find it difficult to find a dog friendly establishment that meets the standards of comfort and cleanliness that I require for us both.
Sidegate Guest House exceeds my criteria offering top class accommodation and breakfast.
Richard and Sally are totally guest focused and Eki, the house labrador is an excellent host fully prepared to share his secure garden with visiting canines. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Had a great weekend staying at Sidegate Guest House. The rooms we're very nice. They were clean, specious and had everything we needed. The bedding was also excellent which always makes a difference. Finally, breakfast was absolutely awesome! Definitely something that really make's a weekend away and it was one of the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

would like to say this is a lovely B&B very clean warm and welcoming nothing is to much trouble
fantastic breakfast all included
stayed with my daughter and her boyfriend on a uni interview visit
had to travel six hours to get there so was very pleased to see ample parking and richard to greet us even though it was late
only one night but if she gets in will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobbs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

My first stay at Sidegate was just before Xmas 2012, when I was working up in Ipswich. I had had a horrendous journey (4 hours stuck on the M25 - 2 hours to go one junction). Once in Ipswich, I was working all afternoon. Exhausted, I arrived at the B&B. Richard and Sally made me feel very welcome, even making a sandwich, saving me the hassle of going out for something to eat.
Needless to say, when I had to go to Ipswich on business again in January, I stayed at the Sidegate. Same excellent accommodation, service and breakfast as before. The following week I was back again, for two nights this time. Great service, etc. (as I have come to expect).
If I am working up in the area again, I will definitely be back. Sally and Richard put a lot of effort into the whole place, making you feel comfortable and welcomed. And, of course, there is the real star of the place, the one and only Eky.

Room Tip: I have stayed in three of the rooms and they are all equally good - comfortable, nicely decorated, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.2 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#5 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidegate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidegate Guest House

Property: Sidegate Guest House
Address: 121 Sidegate Lane, Ipswich IP4 4JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sidegate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptionally high standard of accommodation and comfort with high pressure en suite showers, flat screen televisions with Freeview and Fairtrade refreshments. Locally sourced breakfasts and free wireless broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sidegate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidegate Guest House Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing