We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pub Fayre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorrel Horse Inn

Sorrel Horse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipswich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sorrel Horse Inn
Ranked #13 of 36 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Pub Fayre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Visited on a Friday evening in January. Ordered food from the board and went for the specials as they they were cold weather type stews . waited some confusion on our order but when food arrived it was plentyfull and good quality. Would reccomend for pub food

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robnmegbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Like many others I've frequented this pub for a number of years albeit rather infrequently.

On this occasion a business colleague and I fancied somewhere cheap and cheerful and the Sorrel Horse Inn was literally equidistant from where we lived.

Homely atmosphere and very popular it's hard to find pubs as good as this. The menu has all the favourites and they have the specials on the board above the fireplace.

Service is friendly and fast, food freshly cooked to order.

I had the gammon, cooked to perfection with real chips and the expected side salad!

Will definitely be back and might even take the family too!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I have been visiting this pub at least once a year for over 30 years, and I live over 200 miles away. Whenever I travel to Suffolk, I aim to get there for lunch. It has slowly evolved over time, but stayed great. I've never stayed there, so cannot comment on the accommodation, but the beer cellar is well kept, the food excellent, and the service friendly & welcoming. When I walked in recently after not visiting the pub for about 12 months, the bar-man recognised me and when he was not busy we had a chat. Service can be slow at busy time, but they usually tell you if there is going to be very long wait. The food is freshly cooked. The regular menu is good, and the specials board always has something interesting. It is dog friendly, It's a great English Country pub, I wish there were more of them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

A very welcoming Hotel with excellent home cooked food; good choice of beers; excellent ambiance and very relaxing atmosphere. Hotel staff and customers are all very welcoming and we'll certainly recommend a stay here to our friends. We hope to stay again soon.

An excellent place too, if you have a dog! Just up the road there is a large park which is part of an estate with a mansion. The grounds are extensive and ideal for your dog to have a good run. Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to find other walks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr and Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed here as a spot for a piece and quiet after a weekend in London for the opening of the Olympics.The location just outside Ipswich was ideal.The establishment had it all.The food was excellent, yes i have read slow service in previous reviews but when i was there they served 110 meals one afternoon!!!!-my meals including breakfast were ample and of a good standard.It was busy with visitors/locals which was good fun as both talked away together and made you feel at home.The vast area outside with the children play area, smoking area, car park catered for all families. Cleanliness and facilities in the room were good and well provided, any problems or assistance required the staff were very pleasant and pleased to assist
Would definately recommend and stay again Brian Adams MBE (ALICANTE SPAIN)

Room Tip: Ask the staff where you would like to be and they will accommodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batara776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were attending the Suffolk Dog Show on Sunday, and on Friday decided as the weather was nice..lets make a weekend of it. We were travelling as a family of 3 with 2 dogs, so trying to find half decent lodgings that accepts dogs was a challenge, but I came accross the Sorrel Horse which had a vacancy, it was 20 minutes from the dog show..what more could we ask. We arrived Saturday 4pm and shown to our room by a very friendly young lady.The accomodation was next door to the pub in a converted barn.The room had a double bed and 2 single beds, so plenty of room. There was no ensuite in room 8 but the bathroom was right outside our room and shared with room 7. this didnt cause us any issues. Both the bedroom and bathroom were clean and modern. We sat in the pub garden in the evening which was big with a childrens play area. Later we ate in the pub, we were able to take the dogs into the pub with u s too which was a bonus. The food was lovely and my steak was cooked to perfection. We all had dessert. After a long day travelling we went to our room and settled in for the night. The beds were comfortable, but I must apologise to other guests for our dogs that barked everytime someone came into the accomodation block..SORRY! Shrubland Hall is opposite the Pub which was really nice for dog walks. To get into the grounds you need to walk up the road (no footpath) and through a gate in the fence. Breakfast at the Sorrel Horse was good too. I would definately stay here again. The room was nice, the food was nice and the staff nice. We paid £60 for our room which included breakfast. We would be happy to pay £100 for this room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We took my dad here for Fathers Day and it all started out well. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful and the beer was good. Unfortunately the food was not so good. Out of the 4 meals ordered 2 had to be returned as the "sizzling plates" were too hot for the steaks which ended up like shoe leather. When we complained and the manageress came to our table she was very aggressive and not really interested in listening to our issues. She finally agreed to take some money off the bill but her attitude was appaling. It's a shame really as it's a pub I've been using since I was a teenager (over 20 years) but my last few visits the service has been going downhill rapidly. We're in no hurry to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debz135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich North Hotel
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gatehouse Hotel
3.2 mi away
Limes Hotel
Limes Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel Horse Inn

Property: Sorrel Horse Inn
Address: Norwich Road | Barham, Ipswich IP6 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sorrel Horse Inn is a traditional country pub, with a separate accommodation block. We offer good home made food, real ales, inglenook fire places, exposed beams, car park, large beer garden, childrens play area and much much more. Family run for over 26 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sorrel Horse Inn Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing