We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good steaks”
Review of Sorrel Horse Inn

Sorrel Horse Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sorrel Horse Inn
Ranked #14 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We - a party of 2 couples -visited the Sorrel Horse on a Saturday evening and were pleasantly surprised at how busy it was. Fortunately we had booked so our table was waiting for us. The food on offer is typical pub fare with a printed menu and specials on the blackboard. Following our starters of whitebait and prawn cocktail (old fashioned, but all the better for it) we, all four of us, had the fillet steak which was very good indeed. It was a decent sized steak and perfectly cooked to our requirements. It was simply accompanied with chips (very good) mushrooms and a side salad. Excellent value at £16. Overall pretty impressive and certainly worth another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The pub is very nice, with nice seating areas and very nice decorations on the wall and fireplace.
The food was average. My partner had trout and I had a burger. The beef burger was not very nice, but the chips were amazing!
The banoffee pie was average.
The service was a bit slow at the bar (you have to order and pay there first), but the girl who was serving was very nice and smiley.
The toilets were very clean and smelled very nice.
I really liked the environment, but they need to improve the food.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank elias a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Went to the sorrel horse for a quiet Sunday lunch with family. When ordering food we were told by the young girl behind the bar there would be a "small wait", which would have been fine. However after well over an hour of waiting at a table that hadn't been cleaned from the previous users (even though the staff behind the bar had been given their lunch and there was barely anyone sitting down to eat) we decided to leave and find another place to eat. When going to the bar to ask for our card back and to pay for our drinks I ended up paying a bill for £18 for two drinks and some snacks... With the staff member assuring me that if we stayed the food would not be much longer. I would hate to see what a "long wait" would be like. Never going back again. Maybe they were having a bad day or staffing issues, but I wouldn't recommend

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Arrived reasonably early Sunday lunch time. Not too busy. Ordered drinks and food and was advised there may be a wait for the food. Thought ok maybe half hour max. After an hour, no food nor had our table been wiped done from previous diners. Decided to go else where. Poor customer service!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Went for a meal Sunday , had table booked for 7.30 ordered meal 7.35 - starters arrived at 8.55, main meal 9.20 appalling wait. People were served after arriving after us suspect young bar man messed order up, husband had to mention waiting hour for starter, no mention of reason being busy . Starter eventually arrived 15 mins later (smelled the mushrooms only just then being cooked) then meal half an hour after that. Waitress apologised said she was on her own and would not like to have waited so long either. Time to settle bill (a substantial amount for 6 people) mentioned to Mr Smith, senior bar man (not the proprietor apparently) that thought wait was unacceptable, he said was due to being busy - not at all what bar maid advised us or what we saw for ourselves. He refused to compensate, customer service non-existent. we have been using this pub 14 years and have seen decline, menu not changed in that time, toilets on Sunday filthy and smelled. Not impressed with Mr Smith's attitude on our reasonable complaint of excessive waiting time. Will not visit again - the Norton Dog knocks spots off this place that's were my custom is going!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money or time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10Florence2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On 29th June we had our wedding reception meal here we were a group of twelve and we were looked after very well,all the food was lovely and well presented,everything on the extensive menu was available the staff were all friendly and attentive,we absolutely picked the right venue...many thanks to everyone working that day that looked after us. Best wishes Jason and vicky

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank langv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when working away, the sorrel horse was 2 miles from where i was working so was ideal location for me, found this after doing a search of local b&b's, chose this one because of the good reviews and the price, very clean comfortable room, very good selection of food in the bar, check the 'specials' board, very tasty better than average pub grub, very friendly atmosphere with very friendly staff, breakfast was just as nice and plentiful as the evening meals with just as friendly staff (always nice to see a smile in the mornings).look forward to staying there again if working the area and will definitely highly reccommend it! (But not to too many people, in case it's fully booked if i return) haha

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
5.3 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#1 of 1 in Great Bricett
69 reviews
5.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
534 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
597 reviews
5.9 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel Horse Inn

Address: Norwich Road | Barham, Ipswich IP6 0PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range: £55 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorrel Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sorrel Horse Inn is a traditional country pub, with a separate accommodation block. We offer good home made food, real ales, inglenook fire places, exposed beams, car park, large beer garden, childrens play area and much much more. Family run for over 26 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sorrel Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel Horse Inn Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing