We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub Grub”
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
Ranked #15 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
149 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I met with some old friends to catch up and this was a perfect place for this. They have great ales on-tap and the food is pure quality. We had some humungous battered cods and a delicious beef burger, all at a very fair price. The atmosphere is good and the staff are nice, there is an abundance of outdoor seating and a car park. The pub is a little out of the centre, but only a ten minute walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    55
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have been to the Greyhound twice and have been really impressed both times :) The first time was with a group of 8 of us... it was a quiet night and we managed to get a big table straight away. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious. I had a slice of rum and chocolate torte- soooo good :)
The second time was on a date with my husband. It was busy and we were offered a place on a table for 6 even though there was a couple on one side. ( or we could have waited at the bar and had a drink while we waited for a table for two) We said yes to sharing and none of us minded and once that couple left we were joined by another couple :) The staff were very friendly we didn't wait to long for the food at all and again it was really good quality :)

I will definitely go back, and would definitely recommend it :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelletri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have visited the greyhound several times not for dinners and lunches both midweek and weekend. The service is always friendly, the food is fab and the portions are huge. Try the steak pie!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch time visit”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Disappointed with quality of food served. My wife's salmon fish cakes contained a piece of cling film. As we left we drew it to the attention of a member of staff who seemed unconcerned and said "thanks for letting us know". Good place to go if you like mushy peas as they seem to come with most dishes. E.G. Steak pie and chips, with mushy peas. However, if you want them with the haddock and chips (£11) you have to pay £1 extra. I overheard someone on another table saying that they felt the prices on some things on the menu were expensive. All in all a disappointing experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one of the best pubs in the central Ipswich area”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Greyhound is a lovely pub with two distinct bar environments. I currently prefer the smaller, darker bar. You can eat in both, and - while the menu is extensive - I almost always go for the cheeseburger with the famous Greyhound chilli. This is tasty and good value comfort food. I'm also a fan of the cheeseboard, which is frequently rotated. I'd advise booking on Fridays through Sundays if you want food (and are a larger group than two).

This is an Adnams pub and carries a wide range of the Southwold brewery's offerings, including spirits and wine. The ale is well kept, and there is usually at least one guest beer.

The bar staff can be a bit hit and miss - some of the staff are friendly and attentive, but it can take a while to get the attention of others (usually the younger staff) when a pint needs refilling.

Overall, though, this is a great pub and often has a decent buzz in the evenings and you can overhear all manner of conversations on life in Ipswich and further afield. Highly recommended - we partly chose our current house based on its proximity to this pub!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epax_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

 
Tuddenham, Ipswich
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing