We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good size rooms”
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Ipswich
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is a nicely decorate hotel with really good sized rooms. The decor is quite modern and there is a good sized long and bar area. The staff on reception were extremely polite and very helpful. The only slight downside was that the rooms only have small windows so are a bit dark and there isn't much wardrobe space if you were staying for more than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAC102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Ipswich.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockula
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel is perched on a roundabout in Ipswich and we thought it was very expensive. £111 for our room for one night plus £55 for dinner which wasn't particularly good. The hotel price included a £7 charge for the car park.

The staff look as if they don't care if you are complaining and they don't care if you are praising. Faceless and anonymous. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suegalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to email me on H0995-GM@accor.com.
Kind regards,

Serhan ILKER
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights from the 21st May, as part of a coach party of 33 people. My room was clean , comfortable, airy and quiet even though there was a roundabout outside my window. The breakfast was all anyone could ask for, choice of cereals, cheese and meat, full english, waffles and toast with a variety of jams etc. Dinner was a buffet style starter, followed by a carvery, with a choice of 3 main courses and then buffet style desserts. The dining room staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, they were so polite, helpful and cheerful, in fact all the staff were wonderful throughout the hotel. There is a small patio area to enjoy a drink al fresco.
The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the shopping centre and about 15 mins from the riverfront.
A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We used this Novotel as a base to visit the nearby Gardens of Beth Chatto and of East bergholt Place, and to explore the historic centre of Colchester. From the initial welcome by Reception through to the excellent service at the Bar and in the Restaurant, we were unable to fault this hotel. There was close attention to detail in each case, and the staff were unfailingly cheerful and seemed to enjoy their jobs - always a good sign in an hotel. This Novotel is located in the Quays area of Ipswich, which is clearly under development from what must have been a run-down state in recent years. Fortunately the hotel is not close to the worst of what remains, and the area immediately around it is clean, well cared for, and did not seem to harbour any threats at night. The near-by river and marina are attractions, and when development is complete, the Quays will be a fine mix of residential/hotel and light commercial (on the near-by ring road).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFPH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Ipswich again very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding.
Car park has limit spaces and they are a bit tight but we managed to park.
Hotel public areas are very clean and we were greeted by a very happy and welcoming receptionist. Our room was spacious and had a seperate bathroom and toilet which is OK but the toilet was very small and aukward. The room was clean and bed comfortable nothing to complain about apart from the loo.
We ate at the hotel and found the food very good but a bit pricey.
Every member of staff we encountered was happy and attentive and couldn't do enough for you.
Breakfast was good but the limit size of the dining room meant we had to wait for a table.
Overall a very good hotel with keen and pleasant staff.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank simon_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

On arrival the hotel reception and bar area looks great , quite modern and funky.
But the rooms are tiny and claustropobic, the toilet cubicle is so tiny, very awkward bath and shower area to get in and out of ( and im not a fatty!)
Dull decor, shabby corridoors
Only one lift
Very noisy as the hotel is siutated next to a busy roundabout , even with windows closed!
Only plus was that its situated right near the town centre, although you have to pay for your parking
Staff were friendly though, and I was upgraded to a family room

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main road try and avoid a saturday if the local football team are play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TUBBIES-MUMMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Novotel Ipswich Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Please feel free to email me on H0995-GM@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Serhan Ilker
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
1.8 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Address: Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: £46 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing