We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novotel, Ipswich Dec 12” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Ipswich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Ipswich
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Novotel, Ipswich Dec 12”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Clean, modern hotel. Excellent value at STG 50 for a twin room. Added bonus was car parking for STG 7 for 24 hours. Good restaurant nearby (on the quayside). Unfortunately, wasn't very impressed with Ipswich.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Ipswich.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    354
    127
    45
    17
See reviews for
136
255
64
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Childrens area of free use of Xbox, books, games etc., superb and entertaining. Our room was very large and the idea of a family room with seperate loo and bath/shower great. Staff extremely helpful, breakfast exceptional quality, would recommend and certainly stay again

Room Tip: £7 for parking but you can come and go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeye007Eastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Ipswich.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Really nice hotel, actually. Shame about the coffee in the morning - it is rotten. But that's it for the complaints.
We asked for a room with a shower only, not a shower over a bath. So glad we did. Amazing rainhead shower, with a separate hand-held gadget with a massage type water jet. Well thought out room: the toilet is separate from the shower and there's an internal door between the room and the toilet door, which also serves to reduce hallway noise. Very smart. Lots of lighting options, tea and coffee, of course. The toiletries weren't luxury, but I always bring my own anyway. I would definitely recommend asking for room facing the car park. It's quiet back there.
The breakfast buffet was good, a full selection of hot foods, which I didn't try, and a good choice of cold options, including soya milk, which is nice not to have to ask for it. Always replenished and it was all fresh. But as I said, even if you're a coffee drinker, go for the tea.
I would stay there again, especially at the rate of £59 including breakfast. It's not fancy, but it's good, and the windows open, which was essential even in freezing, rainy November.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower-only room - totally worth it! And get a room facing the car park, I'm sure it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wuthering72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Ipswich. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUFFOLK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

From The moment you walk in you are really impressed by the polite and welcoming of all the staff Nothing was to much troublefor any of the staff.Large and quiet rooms with fridge and tea making.The resturant food wasfirst class and plentiful.Easy to walk to the town centre,the waterfront,and the football ground. Can honestly say that nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff,they made the stay.Had a great carefree time.

Room Tip: Queen rooms are worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISANNSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Novotel Ipswich! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

My wife and I stayed the night here one cold Saturday night in November. I asked for a quiet room away from the roads (the hotel is situated on a busy roundabout) and that's exactly what we got.
Nice large room and bathroom and just a few hundred yards from the city centre shopping area.
Didn't use the wifi given the costs quoted in the other reviews and took breakfast outside the hotel.
Found a great city centr pub (The Plough) which was 5 mins walk from the hotel.
Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PathManSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Ipswich. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed 1 night at the Novotel, Ipswich. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking into town, or to the many restaurants near by. Reception were very welcoming. The room was large with an extremely comfortable large bed. We had a fridge in the room which was a bonus as was the dual shower. Parking at £7 for 24hrs was not expected, we assumed it would have been discounted for staying at the hotel, but overall a lovely experience which we will repeat when we're next in Ipswich.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel in Ipswich very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

The venue, staff and food was very good. Well presented meals served by more than adequate numbers of staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Well done.
**************************************************************

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank martleshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Ipswich again very soon.
Kind regards,
Serhan Ilker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#5 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#11 of 18 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Property: Novotel Ipswich
Address: Greyfriars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Ipswich is ideally located in the thriving town centre of Ipswich. Offering 101 newly refurbished rooms including 10 Executive and 15 Superior rooms, the hotel is perfect for a business trip or conference in Ipswich with a business centre, Six meeting rooms as well as Free high speed WiFi Internet access. At the end of an eventful day, relax in the hotel bar and enjoy a meal in our Elements restaurant, which also offers 24 hours room service. Onsite pay parking for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Superbreak UK so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing