We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Issacs on the Quay

Issacs on the Quay
Ranked #58 of 447 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A lovely location alongside the waterfront, It was packed on the Friday night, too busy for my liking but was with friends.
Prices are reasonable, deco is nice, really pretty place.
Not much on mind and probably a little commercial for my liking.

Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanielCoughlan, General Manager at Issacs on the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your gracious review of Isaacs on the Quay.

I was sorry to read that you felt Isaacs was a little commercial. We are in fact a freehold, and the real ales from our adjacent micro-brewery are naturally given greater focus. This being said, I will take your observations into consideration.

I hope this makes sense, and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes,
Nathaniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 409 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were staying overnight just outside Ipswich, a place we had never visited before. Decided to head for the quays, parked in the University car park (free after 6pm!) and headed towards the masts on the water - and found Isaac's. Had a simple but good meal whilst sitting outside watching the boats and passersby. Very reasonable prices too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jim7631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanielCoughlan, Manager at Issacs on the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Jim,

Thank you for giving Isaacs on the Quay a look during your recent trip to Ipswich.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Nathaniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

On a business trip to Ipswich for the first time last week and chose Isaacs to have a drink and a bite to eat.
After patiently waiting ten minutes to be served with drinks I was then given the wrong drinks despite my protests so I got a pint of cider for free which probably made up for the weak lager I was served with
Ordered my food and waited.......................
My starter of ribs was quickly put down in front of me and the waiter ran off, with no cutlery or serviettes offered until I asked for them.
The main course turned up 45 minutes later, this time with no condiments, lukewarm and not the type of chips advertised in the menu. Ate some of it and left, never to return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanielCoughlan, Manager at Issacs on the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Bill,

I was very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience at Isaacs on the Quay. It certainly appeared that your visit was not our finest hour. I hope that you will find cause to visit us again during a future trip and enjoy a far better experience.

Best regards,
Nathaniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visited Saturday 3 May, found a nice table upstairs went to order food, just a few mins after 6pm, were told no food upstairs after 6pm were sent to the coffee shop section to order, was so cold in this section, not good when ordering hot food! On leaving we realised would have been warmer to have a seat outside as the parasol heaters were on! Very inflexible attitude from staff as literally a few minutes after 6pm, we weren't the only ones turned away either. Ok to have these policies but make sure areas being served hot food are of a comfortable temperature bbbrrrrr.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanielCoughlan, Manager at Issacs on the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for visiting Isaacs on the Quay. I am sorry to hear that you were less than warm in the Tavern during your visit.

We serve our main menu until 9pm Sunday to Thursday, and until 10pm on Fridays and Saturdays, and it is only Fridays and Saturdays that we ask our guests to enjoy sit-down meals in the Tavern after 6pm, simply because the pub area can become very busy, with tables withdrawn to make way for customers standing around the bars.

I will look into the heating for the Tavern area as a priority, but I can assure you that whilst this is a general rule regarding using the Tavern after 6pm on Fridays and Saturdays, we will always look into finding suitable seating elsewhere within the premises. A Duty Manager is always on hand to look at such requests, and will always grant them if we can accommodate them.

Best wishes,
Nathaniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stopped off for a snack lunch while visiting the Wet Dock – Marina area, the pub stands directly on the quayside. Large bar area serving a range of beers and lagers from their own micro-brewery. On our visit, Briarbank Bitter 3.7% and Perpendicular 4.4% were available. There are a total of 16 beers and lagers brewed, which presumably are available from time to time. The bitter was brilliant.!. Our snack lunch was served outside, where there is plenty sitting area, both in the front and in a courtyard to the side. As another reviewer pointed out, the plastic glasses were a bit of a downer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peebee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanielCoughlan, Manager at Issacs on the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

I hope you will visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Nathaniel Coughlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Issacs on the Quay also viewed

 

Been to Issacs on the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing