We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent service”
Review of Alaturka

Alaturka
Ranked #7 of 456 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$35
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional yet modern!Alaturka Restaurant is a perfect place to enjoy a meal in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere or to host your special event whatever it is…We serve good quality food at affordable prices. We have a wide selection of meals of Turkish cuisine the heritage of Ottoman Empire. Come to Alaturka for a delicious meal with great service.Alaturka PromiseThe secret of Turkish cuisine is a mixture between the spices and the main ingredients, achieving a delicate balance that enhances the taste of each. At Alaturka we have fresh local produce delivered every day and our food is all made with natural ingredients.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

14 of us arrived to a wonderful welcome and great attention. Everything was explained clearly, and no quibbles about giving extra olives or bread. We had a choice from a set menu. The person who was eating gluten free products was very well catered for and complimented that the restaurant was willing to meet their needs. Even the person who wasn't too sure, came out saying it was an enjoyable meal.

Food was well cooked and tasty. Definitely worth coming back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank S_J185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for this feedback, we were more than happy to accommodate for the dietary needs of your party. We are aware of the importance of our customers dietary requirements and have created separate menus for non-gluten, onion free, dairy free, as well as a host of other dietary needs, to ensure our customers are well looked after.

As well as these separate menus, our staffs are more than happy to assist with customers inquiries regarding the menu, due to the vast in-depth knowledge that they have regarding the menu.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome again, next time you dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a pleasant surprise this restaurant was and the staff were so helpful and friendly. As I had not been to a Turkish restaurant before and I was not sure what to expect but our waitress made a point of helping us choose our food by explaining what each course was . We went for the £20 a head meal and I thought it was good and the time we had at the restaurant was excellent. I think our waitress was key to making our night such a good one. Thank you for a great time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andy-Green-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely feedback.

We are delighted that you had your first Turkish food experience with us, and more so that you enjoyed it!

Our staff are aware that not everyone is familiar with traditional Turkish cuisine, so we consciously make the extra effort to introduce our customers to the menu, so that they can have the best experience personally catered to them, with the help of our staff.

We hope you come back time and time again, now that you have had a taste of what Alaturka has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beware of their off menu house wine. A 2 euro a bottle plonk. Food lacked complete imagination. The fish option was salmon on mashed potatoes and over salted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Viren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Team Alaturka was extremely surprised to receive this comment as we all were given the impression that your party of 14 had really enjoyed themselves.
Your party organiser had chosen what we think is a very good value, albeit restricted, menu available for business groups. This includes a glass of wine. It is not a 2 euro plonk and this is the first negative comment we had about the wine. I revisit our wines on a regular basis and will certainly take your comments into account for the next review.
I am aware that if an individual within a large party is disappointed it can be difficult to ‘complain’ without feeling they are distracting from the overall enjoyment.
I appreciate you did comment about the wine at the time and those comments were duly noted. All the welcome wine served was consumed. I was aware that you did not finish the salmon and when asked if everything was ok you replied yes. I would have been more than happy to replace the dish or provide an alternative if I had known.
The menu describes the dish as “Oven baked fresh salmon fillet served on a bed of mash potato and creamy sauce cooked with vegetable”
Alaturka is be committed to delivering a great customer experience, as recognised by so many excellent reviews so far on Trip Advisor. It is rare that we receive a review like yours so we will take the feedback into our regular reviews to see how we can be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Came here on a first date which proved to be the best I've been on, and not just because of the company!
We sat upstairs and were the first ones up there as it was still early in the evening, from start to finish service was on hand at all times, even when busy, and the staff were very friendly. The food was excellent and I recommend the Turkish red wine. Not too expensive either for the quality you receive. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your comment, and congratulations on your date.

We aim to provide the best service possible, to match the high standards of the food and the traditional Turkish authenticity of our restaurant, we can only thank you for choosing our restaurant for your special evening.

Thank you again for such lovely feedback, Team Alaturka wishes you and your date all the best for the future, with hopefully more happy memories being made here at Alaturka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this for a party of 12 colleagues. Good and service and the food was great. Will be coming back for private dining.

1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlaturka, Manager at Alaturka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review both online and positive comments on the night, which were passed onto the Team Alaturka serving you on Monday. Our staff were extremely pleased to be waiting on such happy, lovely costumers.

Due to the unique layout of our restaurant we can accommodate both large parties, like yours, and more intimate smaller parties all under one roof, we thoroughly look forward to serving you again.

Best wishes, we hope to see you often

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alaturka also viewed

 

Been to Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing