We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAYING OVER NIGHT AT THE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“STAYING OVER NIGHT AT THE HOTEL”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had an outstanding time, very keen and helpful staff, supportive and understanding , jade was outstanding, went out of her way when ever possible , really made me feel at home, 10 out of 10 particularly jade, excellent quick service , very professional , beds were extremely comfortable , 100 % clean

Room Tip: speak with jade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear APC78,

Wow - 5 stars !!

Thank-you !! We really appreciate your great review, and I will be sure to pass on your fantastic feedback about Jade.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    217
    142
    41
    28
See reviews for
99
155
26
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn with my son and daughter on the evening of Monday 30th October. It was in a very convenient location by the side of the retail park. Whilst the service and the location was great the decor at the hotel is somewhat dated and in parts looked more like a throw back from the 80's.
We were on our way to Harwich to catch the ferry to the Hook of Holland and this was a very convenient stop over for us. We were also able to obtain a very good rate for the rooms so all in all my feeling is very good but had the decor been a little better we would have rated the hotel as excellent. One other feature that many hotels still do not have that was good was the availability of hot coffee and teas as we exited which was a feature we used also.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floors where we stayed were acceptable but the decor at the hotel is in need of an upda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Wiggleoxford,

Many thanks for your comments. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay.

As we are not a new build hotel, as you indicate, we do have to work additionally hard to ensure our guests have a great experience.

Thank-you for your review, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

First of all I have to declare an interest. I am an IHG rewards club member and stayed here as a freebie on the scheme. However I did not expect a free upgrade to an Executive room. The lady on Reception was so helpful and professional whilst remaining friendly.The room was large and comfy but the bathroom is cramped. Despite being minutes from the very busy Copdock Corner junction with the A12 / A14, the hotel is in its own grounds and very quite and relaxed.We normally only book Holiday Inns with a Spirit Health Club but sadly on this occasion did not have the time to use similarly the Restaurant, as we were visiting friends.

A great easy to use Hotel and perfect as a base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: Rooms spread over 2 floors, towards the rear being the quitest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Robbie78,

Many thanks for the great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again, when you can enjoy the pool and the restaurant.

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Ipswich which was the perfect location for us. Daughter was playing golf at Stoke by Nayland only a 20min drive from there and pretty central for everytghing else.
We had an issue with the room when we first arrived but the staff were excellent. \\\\\\\\\\\\you are given the managers personal mob and email. I used both and he responded and fixed the problem. Thanks Paul !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thanks for the great review.

As you have found, I stand by my word to do all I can to help out my guests, and I am pleased you contacted me personally on both phone and e-mail.

It's great I was able to help you, and glad the golfing for you and your family went well.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed here last year and thoroughly enjoyed it went back this year for 5 days and yet again could not fault it we stayed in the executive suite and like last year the standard was really good and breakfast was really good the biggest bonus about this hotel is that they have a swimming pool which is lovely as at the end of a day you can relax have a swim and a sauna if you wish then off to sleep feeling really relaxed highly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Allison W,

Thank you so much for such a great review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back again this year, and we will look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Ipswich.

Thank-you again.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is typical holiday inn of the 70s which has done its best to renew into a modern one. Rooms are spacious, bar the cramped bathrooms, and have good facilities.

As it's out of town it's quiet, but obviously that means taxi rides into town if you want somewhere else to eat or drink as there is nothing within a 15 minute walk other that a retail park. Depending on which cab firm you use it's under a tenner to get in and out of town.

The restaurant serves the standard menu of a Holiday Inn but also has specials, which give variety.

Breakfast is the standard buffet fayre of hot and cold. So you can have a full English. Buy you breakfasts in advance at the desk when you check in or you'll have to pay more.

A nice touch is the free coffee/tea in reception in the morning in takeaway cups so you don't have to visit a coffee shop as soon as you arrive wherever it is business takes you.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank markcst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Markcst,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us.
I am pleased you had a great stay with us, enjoyed the breakfast, and the coffee in the lobby.
We will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Ipswich.

Thank-you again.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Third time staying at this hotel. Very good price for the night but breakfast was expensive at £9.50. Room was comfortable but bathroom very small. Reception excellent, pool and gym very good, but the service at the bar later in the evening left a bit to be desired. Personal service seemed to be beyond the barman. Never the less I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryb1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear terryb1941,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.1 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich
Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing