We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal here over the Easter weekend in order to explore the Suffolk Coast. The staff were fantastic, always keen to help and went the extra mile many times to make our stay enjoyable. Very clean and basic but good pool and gym. Would definitely come again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusieP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear SusieP333,

Many thanks for posting such a great review about your stay.

I am pleased you had such a great stay with us, and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    222
    144
    41
    29
See reviews for
102
158
26
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Service excellent, room typical Holiday Inn, therefore clean, comfortable bed and choice of pillows, bathroom somewhat compact....you wouldn't want to be too fat as you could get wedged between door and sink unit!! Food in evening and breakfast was fine, though I did not have a cooked breakfast. The conference facilities were fine, water replenished, help arrived quickly to assist with the projector, and liked the fudge and sherbert lemons on the table. Second year that I have been here and would definitely visit and use for a seminar again. Didn't use the spa facilities, but they looked good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Lynn T,

Many thanks for your great review about your stay.

I am pleased your conference went well, and that you enjoyed our great service and food.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is clean and well presented, the common areas and bedrooms subject to recent decoration.
This Hotel is conveniently located for visits to the Suffolk coast and local places of interest like Sutton Hoo and Buy St Edmunds.
Reception staff were professional and very efficient.
The bedrooms are standard Holiday inn layout consisting of a medium sized bedroom area and an adequate if compact bathroom with a shower over the bath.
The staff are adequate and very helpful at this company operated site.
Therein lies the problem with the quality of the breakfast and bar food offered.
The ingredients are of poor quality, in my opinion less than basic supermarket quality.
They are centrally sourced from a central warehousing facility, so that the hotel is unable to source local products. Everything regarding the food revolves around the bottom line or profit returns on minimal investment resulting in poor and most of the time dire consequences.
The breakfast coffee is typical.It is acidic and served luke warm and the resultant offering taste as though the liquid is from steeped stale cigarette ends. With the purchasing power of IHG a better solution would be sachets of coffee served in an individual pot as the tea is served.
My advice is book on a room only basis and eat elsewhere.
The hotel has a pleasant pool and activity centre which we did not make use off.
The hotel management are constantly reporting customer grievances regarding the food situation but higher management file the comments in a suitable waste container.
The bar menu logo is food that hits the point, the point being your wallet for dire food.
Would never eat in this establishment again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john1maskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mr. Maskell,

Many thanks for taking the time post a review about your stay.

While I am of course pleased that you found the hotel clean and well presented, and the staff friendly and professional, it is of course disappointing that you had a poor experience with the food.

As you are aware, I provide all of my guests with not only my e-mail address, but also my personal phone number, so please do let me know should you have issues during your stay, as I will do all I can to remedy them before you depart.

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed at The Holiday Inn a few times now and have enjoyed it each and every time! The staff are friendly the rooms are a decent size and clean. And of course the kids have lots of fun in the swimming pool. I'm not going to list pro's and cons as i usually do because there really is not many cons :) I guess maybe the cleaners charging into your room early in the morning but then just keep the door locked. Its also very quiet which personally i like... There have nether been a lot of people in the pool which is good and they also have a jacuzzi and two saunas.

All in all its a great place to take the family and to go alone if your just looking for a break and to relax!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Ben W,

Many thanks for taking the post a great review about your stay.

The pool and the free parking (not so common in Ipswich) are a couple of things which makes guests return again and again, but the biggest reason is our great staff. I am pleased you had a great stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My brother and my New Sislaw had their reception here.
As Ive always lived in Ipswich and seen this hotel change hands many times, I was a little dubious on what to expect.
I was pleasantly surprised. The reception when we arrived was a bit confusing as the lady at the reception was not very informed and only after several questions pointed us in th right direction.... Drinks I thought were expensive, but the service was exceptionally friendly and very good.
The wedding room was lovely, I dont know how much was due to brother and sislaw or down to holel, but had lots of querkie things for example the sweetie trees and balloon images of bride and groom. Our Wedding Meal was very nice and didnt have that multi catered feel about it, they catered for everyone (including a picky veggie) again service was very good.
The whole evening flowed smoothly (especially for the bride and groom) which was lovely and for me as a guest I couldnt fault it. Our waitress even went out of her way to find my other brother which he had dropped in the bar area.
A really enjoyable evening and the staff were brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Linda P,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience at a wedding which was held here at the hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed the food, and the great friendly service we offer, and of course very pleased that event was a big success.

We do try very hard to ensure our guests have a great stay, so I am pleased this was the case for you.

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel looks like a 1960s primary school turned into a hotel. It good definitely do with a paint job. Room was unnaturally hot and I had difficultly getting to sleep despite adjusting temperature.

Food in the bar was overpriced and poor (£12 ish) when I would have been satisfied with this quality if I had only paid £7ish.

Staff were friendly though and the gym and pool were nice

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Malcolm S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Pros = Very nice and friendly staff who do the best job they can.

Cons = 256k internet allocated for free wifi internet usage, there is a pay for option which I would assume is faster. However I stay in a lot of hotels and 256k is very stingy when it comes to free internet usage 1Meg as a minimum would be more appropriate, the 256K connection felt like the dial up days.
The bed was very hard and resulted in sore ribs and a lot of tossing and turning. And the pillows were very thin and felt cheap regardless of choosing firm or soft. On the first night I was sweating all night as I thought this was due to the fact that the air conditioning wasn't functioning properly, I called reception who sent maintenance. It transpired that the radiator had been set permanently to the on position (fully on) and maintenance had to use a wrench to turn it off manually, adding to this that the air conditioning wasn't working and the heat in the room was unbearable for any length of time. Maintenance said it was for the comfort of guests as this was still classed as wintertime. If that's comfort, then I wouldn't like to see what they classed as uncomfortable. Adding to that the weather forecast was for up to 21 degrees last week. Anyway, the maintenance guys were nice and fixed the problem for me quickly. I did have a 5 month old baby in the room and high temperatures can be dangerous when sleeping at night. The iron didn't work and was replaced also. The pool although good has some sort of brown rust forming at one side. In conclusion I feel the staff are very good, but the hotel itself could do with a refurbishment and free internet should be faster and in line with competitors.

Would we book this hotel again? Not unless the above was advertised as improved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank-you for your feedback on your stay.

It is disappointing that you didn't have a great stay.

As you know, I do provide all my guests with both my personal e-mail address, and phone number, so that I can be contacted if you are in anyway disappointed with your stay. In future, please let me know, and if there is anything I can help with, I will.

Kind regards

Paul Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Property: Holiday Inn Ipswich
Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing