We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give the restaurant a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here 18-19 July with tour group. Room clean but bathroom minute and used towels were never replaced. Breakfast ok if you stuck to cereals but cooked courses were either over or undercooked.
Self-service group dinners were revolting. No sign of a menu, very limited choice ("When it's gone, it's gone" seemed the motto), food badly prepared and tasteless: more like bad hospital food. No service at all; no one to complain to. If you stay here, think carefully about where you eat.
Hotel management: you have been telling dissatisfied customers "We value your feedback and strive to improve" for years (see earlier reviews on Trip Advisor), but it suits the corporate bottom line to carry on as before.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaberwock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear jaberwock,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all experience you had that did not live up to your expectations. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Relaxing 2 night stay. Great location but need to drive if you want somewhere to go to for a drink.
Rooms were fine, everything you need.
Pool clean and enjoyed the jacuzzi to unwind.
We didnt eat in the restaurant, but the menu was great.
Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Spencers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Spencers2010,

Many thanks for the kind review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

On the plus side the place is well located and easy to find. Room quiet for the location. Room clean and obviously recently refurbished with hair dryer and ironing facilities.
Then the negatives:
I weigh eight and a half stone, and I had trouble turning round in the bath room.
The tv had a mind of its own (no I'm not technology stupid)
The room didn't even boast a tourist leaflet or a Gideon Bible!
But where it really fell down was the customer service and poor quality food.. Not rude staff but no staff! This was felt especially in the dining room. I was part of a tour group, with a firm I have had several successful holidays with and NEVER have I come across such arrangements since I was a poor student backpacking in the back of beyond.
Usually this firm manages to get dinners for the group in a private room with some waiting staff, and food of a decent quality. Not here. We were plonked in the main restaurant but there was no indication of where we were meant to sit or what we were going to eat. Not a typed sheet nor a reservation sign in sight. The food had been dumped onto a buffet arrangement and we served ourselves once we had worked out what was on offer. It couldn't even rise to different serving spoons for different vegetables. The food appeared to be the remains of a massive freezer clearout. Meat resembled that in a frozen tv dinner, and the fish looked no better than the stuff my gran dished up to the cat before the advent of Kit-e-Kat. The worst was "salmon" slathered in some bilious yellow gloop and served up with long frozen carrots. The desserts were sugar, sugar, sugar - the fruit salad offered disappeared fast and there was no one to ask whether the pair of grapes and the orange segment left would be replenished. Where/whether tea or coffee would be served remained a mystery. There was no one to ask about anything, no one to clear the tables and no one to complain to. On leaving no one asked had I had a good time, nor wished me a pleasant journey.
I am realistic. This is a chain hotel at the budget end of the market and I don't expect a Michelin service here. But really, I felt that as a tour group we were not seen as worth the effort and none was made. Maybe the attention went to those eating a la carte. But fivers on legs have voices so I am speaking now. And I would point out that I have stayed at other hotels in the same marketing niche and had MUCH better than this.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the swimming pool and not facing the access road are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Borderer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Borderer12,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We're deeply sorry for the issues you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional information. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here since it's near my parents house. Seems more like a place to stay for business than pleasure although the breakfast buffet is pretty good as long as you don't leave it too late (things run out). Gym is OK - pool a bit small (not really for laps) and as seems usual it's a sports club too so often quite busy.

Does have good A/C which was very nice during the heatwave. Not located near anything walkable. Bar is a bit limited. Beds not super comfy. Bathrooms very tight on space but well appointed. Our bathroom door would not close (warped door) though. Expensive coffee (regular filter coffee was 3.50GBP!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Warx,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast options. However, I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent a Sunday evening in this hotel whilst visiting haunts old and new in Suffolk.

The hotel is very easy to find (always a bonus after a long journey) and the welcome was both friendly and professional.

The room was clean and comfortable with a good view of surrounding countryside and provided everything we needed.

As we had eaten a large lunch we decided to have sandwiches and a bottle of wine in the bar in the evening and this was served promptly at our table by a barman who was pleasantly chatty and shared useful local knowledge. The food and wine were just what we needed and excellent value. It was particularly useful to have the flexibility to eat in this way rather than being forced into a restaurant for a large meal we didn't need.

Breakfast was included in our deal and was also very acceptable though had we paid the £15 per head asking price we would have considered this excessive for what was on offer.

Given the negative comments about the food read in previous Trip Advisor reports we were pleasantly surprised and will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 999KenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear 999KenV,

Many thanks for posting such a great review about the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I travel alot with work and mostly stay within the holiday inn chains. After a long drive arrived at 9pm last night to a lovely warm welcome and a very comfortable and quiet room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff there who were especially accommodating looking after my fussy requests for salad and fruit in the restaurant.
Hope I have to stay again for a nice relaxing night.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Scubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Scubydoo,

Wow - Five stars !!

Thank-you for your review.

I am pleased you had a great stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Ipswich last weekend as I was attending a Motor Sport Weekender at Foxhall Stadium. I booked a standard room but was upgraded to an executive. Room was great, hotel bar was good too - will be staying again next year, so cant wait to book up! Well done and thankyou!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank BD070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear BD070,

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we will look forward to your return next year.

Don't forget, by booking direct, we guarantee the best price !!

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
914 reviews
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.9 mi away
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing