We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently visited for 1 night, and was upgraded to an executive room.
Clean, nice room, comfy bed, provided everything that we needed for the night.
Had a drink in the bar, which had comfortable sofas in.
Breakfast was self service, and it would have been nice to have a coffee pot for the table rather than try and attract the attention of the staff when you wanted a second cup.
For a Sunday morning, and with families eating breakfast, they didn't have any croissants or pastries which is what most people were waiting for...we in the end didn't wait for these.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

It's hard to go wrong with Holiday Inn and this is a good example. Good location (just off the two main arteries which run through East Anglia), Rooms a decent size, well equipped and we slept well. Staff very friendly and helpful, a request for an extra pillow late at night was immediately dealt with (they brought it to our door even though we offered to come and get it). Nice leisure centre although it's looking a little tired these days, food in bar is good but it's starting to get expensive. When I've stayed here for work I can afford it, when with a family it's quite a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

From check in to check out I found the staff extremely friendly and co-operative. Sorting out my WiFi payment issue, repeated times my key needed re-programming (need to keep it away from magnets in my iPad case!) and generally dealing with my custom with a smile.
The room was clean and comfortable and the curtains certainly kept out the light - unfortunately the same could not be said for the 20mm gap at the base of the door. A rolled up towel soon solved that minor issue though.
I had one evening meal at the hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed it ... the food was very well presented and tasty.
The breakfasts were the normal buffet fare, with the usual issue of plates not being quite warm enough to prevent the food cooling.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Tina was excellent on our big day she went above and beyond for us thank you so much she helped with sorting out the rooms gathering people for photos and keeping things on track. She always had a smile on her face and interacted very well with all guests

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nahlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Wow - 5 stars !!

Thank-you so much for a great reviews, and such great feedback about Tina.

I am pleased your big day went well, and Congratulations from us all.

Regards

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Holiday Inn always delivers good value and our expectations are always fulfilled. Special accommodations are always made for our family of 4, and while the room
(in particular bathroom) has not gotten bigger or nicer over the years, we appreciate the decently-priced 'family room'. Breakfast is satisfying -- although not luxurious -- and the indoor pool, sauna and gym clean and updated. I heartily recommend Holiday Inn Ipswich to everyone. My only warning would be to avoid the overpriced, unimaginative food in the bar.. Although the New Zealand Sauv Blanc by the glass is amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Anne C,

Thank-you so much for the great review. We will look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Glad you liked the Sauvignon Blanc. One of my favourites too !!

Thank-you again.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have been staying at the hotel on and off for a few weeks now. On arrival, the staff are always helpful and courteous. The rooms are clean and comfortable, any problems I had (only one) was addressed in a timely manner. The restaurant is fine and any special dietary requirements can be solved by speaking to the head chef. I have stayed in other hotels in the area but this one I have found to be the best. One gripe or moan as we all have one, would be the high speed internet, we all need it and this could be included in the price of the room. The free internet is ok for emails but not much else.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel staff they are all helpful and will polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Simon M,

Thank-you so much for writing such a great review.

I am very proud of my team here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich, and we do strive to ensure all of our guests have a great stay. I am pleased this was the case for you.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

TV massive - taking up excessive desk space. Would be better wall-mounted. Standard lamp switch hidden under curtains. Bedside lamp switches confusing. One switch mot visible as hidden behind bracket. Corridor quite noisy during day and night. Impossible to manoeuvre a standard wheel-chair to desk and back as gap too narrow. Desk chair had dried-on food spilled on it. Sweetener is not the one approved for people with Diabetes - should be sucralose, e.g. Splenda, Yellow Canderel, Nevella or another brand of sucralose. Could not find Gideons Bible.

Threshold bar at bathroom door too high to get over easily in wheel-chair. WC pan of very odd (foreign?) design causes splashing when urinated in by male guests, due to a large horizontal surface where water trap usually is. WC could not be flushed without having to touch seat and lid, due to flush lever badly positioned behind top of seat and lid (when raised). WC too close to washbasin.

Breakfast much too pricey. Wifi chargeable, expensive

Room Tip: Disabled rooms are near reception, so may be noisy from corridor - but worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Arthur 225,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am particularly grateful for the feedback about the room for a wheelchair user. I will be reviewing your comments with the hotel owner.

I am sorry you found the corridor outside your room to be noisy, we do try to monitor this, particularly at night, so please do call us in future if you have any issues.

Many thanks again.

Paul Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
559 reviews
1.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
915 reviews
2.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.9 mi away
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich

Address: London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range: £46 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A12/A14 interchange, this Ipswich hotel is only 4 miles from Ipswich Town Centre and Ipswich Football Club. Close to all amenities and a perfect base for visiting East Anglia, including the Suffolk beaches at Felixstowe & Aldeburgh, Constable Country & Dedham. A relaxed, informal hotel, ideal for business close to Adastral Park, or pleasure, together with a welcoming atmosphere will ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel has 108 guest bedrooms, all with air-conditioning & wireless high speed internet access. All of our bedrooms are non smoking - we have 20 Executive rooms, a selection of Family guest rooms and inter-connecting rooms. Our guests can also make use of the ample free car parking on site. Guests can enjoy dining and relaxing in the restaurant with an extensive choice off the A la Carte Menu or one of our Chef's Specials, and a bar which offers a wide range of refreshments, lighter meals and snacks. Kids also Stay & Eat Free*. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and Beauty Rituals beauty therapist. The hotel has 8 conference rooms and we can accommodate one to one interviews, or up to 120 delegates theatre style. We offer competitive 24hr rates and Day Delegate packages. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing