We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad!”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Stockholm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not that bad!”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My starting point is that I pay £24,5 a night. For that I get off street parking, an above average full English breakfast and a central location (only a three minute walk from the city center). Fair enough. The host son I think, is a good man, the other guests no different than at other hostels. My bed linen was fine and so was the room. Our room was towards the street but it was no problem sleeping with an open window. Reading the reviews on here I was a bit sceptical staying here but this b&b is as good as any for £24,5 a night. Deal with confidence.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    22
    24
    12
    30
See reviews for
6
18
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Very central B&B near the city centre and Portman Road. Nice full English breakfast. The room wasn’t that clean and the carpet disgusting. I don’t think they change the linens after every guest, found some nasty hair on it. I wouldn’t stay here at winter time, the window had no insulation and the street noise was pretty loud (thank God for earplugs).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Budget does not even come close. This place is grim. It is mainly occupied by benefit claimants waiting to be housed. People who run it are a joke, clueless. Food is awful, all cooked the eve before and reheated. Three stars my butt. That sign that says 3 stars was obviously stolen from another establishment. Buy a tent before you consider staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2010

If you want a cheap nights stay close to town centre with just the basics then this will suit. Was bit worried with the bad reviews, but it could be worse. Yes it's cold, not much heating, steep stairs, analogue tv, just a blanket on bed, but for the price and location what do you expect?? Good points, parking on front, 5 mins from town, family run? Breakfast home cooked, towels and shower fine, no toiletries included. Our room had a hole in the window, they moved us to another room that was better, so that was a result. Staff freindly, think they live across the road? Reception not manned, you press a button and I think they come over. Small hotel, 22 rooms, basic, but as I say, for the price, for town centre accomodation, it's good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Well what can i say this hotel was an absolute disgrace, we had read these reviews before going there but thought it cant be that bad!!! BOY WERE WE WRONG!! Staff friendly enough but the hotel was dingy dirty and smelly!!!! When i got into my room i thought someone had left a duster in mky wardriobe but oooo know it was a massive pair of purple ladies knickers, quite funny really. The toilet was filthy the shower didnt work, i didnt stay for the breakfast in the morning i didnt fancy it somehow. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattvCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We booked 3 double ensuite rooms in this "hotel"for 2 nights. When we arrived we noticed on the second floor there was no window in one room at all and a man was fixing another window on same floor. We were allocated rooms on second floor which were old, dirty, dark and the stairs were dangerous. . We were actually allocated the room with the faulty windows. We complained and were given another room which we called a dungeon. We were all then moved to first floor rooms which were cleaner and brighter, but its a pity the showers would not work properly. The breakfast was ok if you like plenty of grease and oil. The only good point i could say about this place is that it is near the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basil6ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Our rooms were clean and fresh. Everything was checked daily. Toilet cleaned, bins emptied etc. The management were very welcoming and very friendly. In a fairly quiet location. 5 mins walk to town centre. Breakfast very good. All in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthChadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
2.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 41-43 Berners Street, Ipswich IP1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing